Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made it for the wife and some friends. Added quartered new potatoes. Everyone (me included) said it was great. Making it again for some other friends tomorrow. Gonna have to get some more friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLd_gUY
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Family loved recipe. Super easy! I didn't have Italian dressing packet so I used regular Italian seasoning I had in pantry. And didn't use flour. I subbed brown gravy packet for the dry beef gravy mix. It thickened it up nice. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was so good and I didn't even use the italian seasoning mix, and I only used half of the ranch dressing mix. Loved it, also did not use the salt n pepper. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this last night. This would be my very first pot roast and like everyone else, I was very skeptical of the ingredients. My husband told me that this pot roast is better than his sister, which both of his sisters are amazing cooks with with Grandmother being the number one. I try to keep up with them and to know that he thought my very first pot roast was that good made this recipe a true keeper. I followed all of the directions and added just 3 elements to this recipe: 1. Olive Oil: All meat, to me, needs olive oil to keep the tenderness and adhere to the seasonings better 2. Poultry Seasoning 3. Portabella Mushrooms and Bell Peppers About 3/4ths of the way through the cooking process, I tasted the gravy. I must admit that it has this weird tangy taste that comes from the italian dressing. I left it alone to continue cooking the remaining 2 1/ hours. Once done, all of the spices came together and created this amazing taste and melt in your mouth roast. This is a staple and this will be a go-to recipe, always. I served this with buttered mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli on as the sides in addition to the vegetables from the pot roast. This is a must try! Thank you keylimeone!! I have one in the books towards being a greater cook, #competitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Sorry. Followed the recipe exactly. Thought the spices were overwhelming with a strange and unsavory aftertaste. The saltiness was a bit much as others have said, but the spice flavor was very unpalatable and overpowered everything in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very, very, very good - and incredibly simple! Perfectly thickened gravy. Meat and carrots that are "just right" tender; not so soft as to fall apart, but fork-tender. In regard to complaints about saltiness- might be differences in the brand of any of the mix packages. We used Publix mushroom gravy mix (in lieu of beef gravy mix), Hidden Valley Ranch dressing and Good Seasons Italian Salad dressing mix - 1 package of each. Just perfect! Might cut down on the pepper just a bit next time, but this is most definitely a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My family and I absolutely loved this recipe. I made a few changes due to the amount of meat and timing. I used 4&1/2 pound roast which caused me to change the amount of water to 1&1/4 cups. I also added crushed garlic along with the salt and pepper before coating it with flour, and used two packs of beefy onion dry mix instead of one (because of the amount of water). And because my timing was limited I baked it in the oven at 325 for 5 hours. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks for the goodeats keylimeone,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I too was skeptical about adding the "dry mixes" but was very impressed with the results!! The only change made was adding "dry" beef with mushrooms gravy mix to bring the total beef gravy weight up to what was required (1.2 oz). The best crock pot roast I have ever made! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent pot roast recipe. Added brussel sprouts and red skinned potatoes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States