Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I just made this. I stuck to the recipe exactly. All I did was sautee the onion (slices) then in the same pan, I browned the roast. Put it all in the slow cooker, then covered the roast with baby carrots and cut up red potatoes. I was skeptical because of all the reviews saying it was salty -- so I added the potatoes (to make it a complete meal, and to soak up any extra salt I didn't want from the dressing mixes). Mine cooked for exactly 8 hours and came out perfect!! I used a 2.6 lb roast and there was nothing left! My husband ate 3 plates of it and said it was a keeper. I thought the meat was incredibly tender and the potatoes and carrots flavorfull. I liked how insanely easy it was. Will definitely be making this again, but will buy a bigger roast! ;) If anyone is worried about it being salty, just throw some potatoes in with everything. I didn't find it salty in the least. I don't know why you wouldn't want to make it with potatoes anyway, it's a complete meal that way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Incredible, gravy was awesome. I used a rump roast turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney lindsay
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I ended up adding almond flour instead of normal flour and added sliced sweet potatoes to the mix and- WOW! This is the best pot roast I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Followed recipe as directed, (although I added potatoes) and was a great family meal - all 3 of my boys really ate it up. Doesn't get much simpler than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Followed the recipe and watched the video. I will admit that instead of 3/4 cup water, I used red wine. The result was fabulous! Served with mashed potatoes and green peas.. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Ristas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
One of the best roast recipes I have tried. made exactly as written and it was fabulous. A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Yummy! I doubled the gravy because I added potatoes...other than that, no changes and it was DELISH! Thank you for this quick, tasty recipe! Will be sure to pass it along to my son when he moves out; it will make several tasty meals for a bachelor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I was a little apprehensive about this when I read the ingredients, but I'm really glad I tried it. It's easy to fix and delicious. The only change I made was adding a couple peeled and quartered russet potatoes to the cooker about 3 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this last night for Easter dinner with my boyfriend. It was my first time ever using the crock pot for a full meal like this, and my very first time making a roast. I have to say it turned out perfectly! I was really skeptical of the gravy ingredients, but I decided to trust the reviewers and go with it. I'm glad I did! The gravy was great with just a little kick to it, the meat turned out super flavorful, and the potatoes and baby carrots were awesome with the gravy soaked in. Definitely not going to forget this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States