Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
A new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Loved it! Followed the recipe, but sliced the meat in medallion pieces rather than in chunks. I have 3 young ones and only one ate everything. The meat was tasty however, the sauce is what was too spicy for the other two kids. Served with fried plantains and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I never thought about making pozole in the crockpot until I came across this recipe! It's just as yummy cooked this way. The only change was that I added some pieces of chicken to the soup - that is how we've always made our pozole, a mix of pork/chicken. And I add a bit more fresh diced garlic since we love it. We serve our soup in a big bowl, add a scoop of refried beans( it thickens the soup) and add condiments - chopped onion/green onion/chopped cilantro/a pinch of oregano/a twist of some lemon or lime slices to taste. Delicious, filling, comfort food. Serve all year - not just for New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is excellent. I made it with homemade chicken stock instead of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I recommend using mild or medium spicy enchilada sauce. I used spicy hot and it was way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Quick and easy. I used a powdered enchilada mix that adds tomato paste and water. It doesn't seem as spicy to me and easier on the kids. I don't recommend adding the extra water. Mine was too watery for me. And next time I think I will add the hominy more towards the end so that it stays firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was SO good! My husband is mexican and he loved it! The only thing was that it needed a little more salt, but other then that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
MY WHOLE FAMIL LOVED THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Knowing how to make traditional posole, I was skeptical of this recipe. I used chicken rather than pork because that's what I had. Being what I call a 'Throw Together' recipe (something you make from premade, usually canned seasoned items), this is really quite good. My entire family loved it. My father-in-law even duped my mother-in-law's dinner plans to stay for the soup (gotta love that!) and had several servings. I'd say, that makes this a pretty good recipe!! Thanks for sharing a much quicker version of this great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Everyone I have made this for loves it! I tend to use chicken rather than pork and I leave out the oregano, otherwise, there are no changes needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My family makes this all the time and I never could get this recipe right. Thank you for submitted this recipes it was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States