Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
love this recipe make it all the times i put everything in crockpot at once and cook for 6 to 7 hrs . I use fresh green chile and no cayenne pepper. It is such a hit at our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is fantasic! My husband said this is the best dish I ever made. Based on other comments I made a few additions. I used 1 Anaheim pepper and one jalapeno pepper then sauteed the onions,peppers and garlic in the pan the pork was in. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of water and added one teaspoon of cumin. Served with shredded cabbage, diced onion, sliced avocado and slivered radishes. Next time I'm going to try with Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is an all-time favorite in our house! I make a double batch at least twice a month. I make it vegetarian by omitting the pork (and oil). I use green enchilada sauce and substitute vegetable stock for water. We serve it over cilantro lime rice and sauteed bell peppers and onions, and top it with cheese since this is the way we fell in love with posole at that famous burrito joint... This posole is better though! Don't forget some warm corn tortillas to get every last drop from the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this recipe twice. Each time adding chicken with the pork as anothers said to try. Both times i got rave reviews. No salt needed as the taste was perfect. Follow as directed and you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gosox05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious, easy and healthy! I might use a little less cayenne pepper next time and think I will search the site for my own enchilada sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow. Despite the high rating, I was hesitant about this recipe. Perhaps it sounded a little too good to be true? I mean, talk about simple! I used half chicken and half pork, seasoned them with salt and pepper and sauteed them before dumping it into the crock pot. Then I sauteed the onions and garlic before dumping them into the crock pot. I used 1/2 the recommended cayenne pepper plus another 1/4 tsp cumin. At the end, I added about 1 cup of cilantro and did not add more salt. I served with rice, more cilantro, and lime wedges. Yum. The soup was too spicy for my little ones, but they gobbled the meat out of it, along with the rice. My picky husband loved it. This is a definite keeper. And healthy to boot!! Thanks for posting Jules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Absolutely delish. First time I made it, made exactly as written, superb! Made it again tonight, but used green enchilada sauce vs the red, and I'm thinking I may like green better. I did use chicken broth in lieu of water... Make sure you dont skimp on the seasonings. Rating this a 5+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good. I had the cilantro in the fridge but forgot to add it. Used one can white and one can yellow hominy. Will make again for sure. I cooked on low for about 6-7 hours and it was perfect. I don't think you need high heat for that period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday. I was missing a couple of the ingredients, but followed the general recipe (missing green chilies). It is really quite good, although spicier than the traditioanl pasole that I have had previously. Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Great Posole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States