Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this recipe as recommended and it turned out fabulously! Not too much water at all. I am sure it depends on how much meat you put it and I think I was a little heavy no the meat. It's so simple but much better than a lot of the americanized pozole you find in the aericanized mexican restaurants! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The only thing I changed with this recipe is crucial, I don't add ANY water at all. There is plenty of moisture with the pork and enchilada sauce. I make this all the time and everyone really likes it, I serve it with cornbread for a simple and complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was a great tasting soup. I have never eaten hominy before but I sure will make this again. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this for work, and they were all so impressed they came back for seconds! I did make a few changes, I used chicken instead of pork, and I also didn't use the slow cooker nor did I put in any oregano. It still turned out amazing. Will definitly be using this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was great, easy and really wowed my fiancé. I didn't have time to brown the pork, so I just cubed it and threw it in the slow cooker raw. Since the recipe calls for cooking on High for so long, I knew it would be okay. I also decided to use medium heat green chile enchilada sauce... YUM. The other changes were pretty minimal: added extra garlic, substituted cumin instead of cayenne (later added about 1 Tbs of hot pepper sauce to spice it up), used dried cilantro, and omitted the salt. I was going through pozole withdrawal and chose this recipe because it was so simple... kept my fingers crossed it would turn out, but the other reviews made it sound great. My mouth was watering the moment I walked through the door (one of my favorite things about using the slow cooker!), and it turned out perfect. I like spicy food, and this was on the mild side even with medium heat enchilada sauce... the perfect starting level you'd feel comfortable serving to guests but able to build on by using extra hot pepper sauce or cayenne. My only garnish (again, due to being short on time) was lime to squeeze over the top. Next time I will try adding the shredded cabbage, diced avocado and minced radish as the alternately creamy and sharp flavors with the cabbage crunch should add complexity that would really up the ante. Either way, the fiancé and I were both very happy with, and it made a LOT of soup. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Before tonight I have never tried posole so I cannot contest on it's authenticity but my whole family really enjoyed it. Not only was it filling it was the perfect meal for those of us that seem to be coming down wit h something. I didn't stray too much from the recipe but I do want to comment on what I did differently. First off, I didn't have a pork loin roast, so instead I had some country style boneless pork ribs that needed using so I cubed that up. I skipped the browning step all together, just threw that meat into the slow cooker completely raw. I used 2 seeded jalapenos and 1 (8 oz.) can green chilies. I used mild enchilada sauce and added about 1 3/4 cup of water. It smelled SO good cooking all afternoon and I couldn't wait to try it. I read many comments and topped it with a variety of items that people suggested.... shredded cabbage, chopped onion, chopped cilantro, sliced radishes, light sour cream, avocado and a wedge of lime. Only thing I think I would do differently next time is adding some more hominy, we really liked the hominy in it. Will make this again, FOR SURE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great easy way to make Posole! Don't forget the garnishes. Cabbage, radishes, cilantro, lime wedges, avocado......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I really liked this -- very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was great! I agree with the other feedback to use mild enchilada sauce vs. med or hot. I cooked it for my family using med and they found it to be a bit spicy. I served it with fresh cabbage on top and it was great! I threw it together in 5 min before running to work and I was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I was skeptical to make this recipe as I am used to the authentic homemade posole that my mother-in-law makes. WOW!! I am pleased to say that this tasted just like hers! I cannot believe how authentic it tastes and how easy it was to make. I followed the recipe exact only changing things that other reviewers suggested. I used 1 anaheim chile pepper and found it was the perfect amount of spice. Instead of water, I also used organic chicken broth and used no cilantro and made with chicken breasts. I also substituted 1 TBS onion powder for the raw onion. I ate it traditionally served with shredded cabbage, diced onions and radishes and a squeeze of lime juice and tapatio with tostadas on the side. Excellent! I already can't wait to make another batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States