Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Easy and really pretty good....I used black beans since I had no hominy on hand....will definately use hominy next time. I also added some cumin, garlic powder, sea salt and pepper for a more flavorful roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This has become one of my family's favorite dinners!! It's so easy to make and really good! I add a cubed, boneless, skinless chicken breast to the pork that is used. I also use our home grown roasted anaheim peppers and corn (along with the hominy!) if I have them in the freezer. Definitely a great dinner on a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
The enchilada sauce I used made this thicker than I expected. I'm more used to posole the way my husband knows it (being from NM) which is more of a soup. I found two cans of chicken broth and used them to try and thin it a little bit. I used a 28-oz can of sauce, but what I would do next time is use a 14-oz can of sauce and 2 cans of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really good! After researching the dish, I served it with tortilla chips and garnished each bowl with sliced radish, green onion, chopped cabbage, chopped cilantro, diced avocado and finished with a squeeze of lime. It tasted like something I would eat in a special mexican restaurant. My whole family loved it. It tastes healthy and is refreshing with added garnishes. Nice winter meal but different from other soups and stews. **I have used several brands of enchilada sauce for various recipes. I'm thinking that could make it or ruin it depending on what brand you use. I like yellow can Old El Paso brand. I used one mild/one hot...no cayenne pepper cause I didn't want it to be too hot. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never made posole before and this turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I never had posole but it was good i followed to a T but thought itwas a little spicy but still good my was not watery just make sure yiu are useing a 4 quartz pot and it will turn out right oh yea my husben liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
was fantastic!!! I used 5 cloves of garlic and threw the cilantro and salt in for the whole time then garnished with cut green onions, a squeeze of lime and French bread. t'was excellent...my hubby agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used chicken and had the traditional add in's shredded cabbage, sliced radishes, diced avocado, fresh oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a delicious version of Posole. Some reviewers have called it "gringo posole," but it tastes exactly like the Posole I had in a small Mexican town! I made a couple of changes to the original recipe. I didn't add much water, only about 1/2 cup. As it looked like it needed more water, I added the liquid from the hominy. I used 3 cans of hominy - one white & two yellow. I added 1 tsp. of cumin. I didn't chop the pork loin or brown it. I waited until it cooked for 6 hours, then I chopped it. The pork was moist and tender. No added salt. Served with chopped cabbage, green onions, radishes, avocados, and cilantro. We started with the soup and then added all the chopped extras. It was perfectly spicy and the crunchy additions made it colorful and healthy! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was incredibly flavorful! I used homemade enchilada sauce rather than canned, and cut the water per a couple of other comments but otherwise followed the recipe. Very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States