Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
As written I'm giving it four stars. I found it to be very spicy, which is perfect for me but as I was serving it to guests, I would have preferred it a little milder. Also, as other reviewers had mentioned, there is a lot of liquid. Instead of eliminating liquid, I doubled the hominy, added a can of corn and a can of refried beans halfway through cooking. I also added a can of diced tomatoes in lime juice, as my enchilada sauce was green and I found it needed more color. I found these additions gave the Posole more substance, took away some of the spice and thickened the soup just enough. It was really quite delicious. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
My family is in love with this soup. Everyone thought I spent hours in the kitchen to make it, but I actually prepared and left it in the crock-pot before I left to work. I did everything the recipe said, except for adding the green chilies. I made pico de gallo to add, and fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Tasty and filling. I didn't have enchilada sauce, so used an envelope of enchilada sauce mix with tomato sauce, tomato paste, and water instead. Used smaller amount of green chilies also because we are heat wimps. Substituted cumin for cayenne because I like the flavor better. Did not use cilantro because cilantro=yuck. Served with lovely ripe avocado, and wow, it was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and did not brown the pork cause I was short on time. Still came out tender and tasty...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I always use this recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very flavorful without being to strong for the culinary wimps in my family. I did substitute boneless, skinless chicken breast for the pork loin. I am always looking for a good hominy recipe, this is one of my favorites... and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
WOW WEE! This is soooo good! I used chicken (didn't have any pork), and substituted chicken broth for water (like I always do in soups). One note of caution....I used mild enchilada sauce, and it was still extremely spicy, but I love spicy. Just wanted to give fair warning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
WOW! What a delicious meal this made! I cooked it on the stove top about 3 hours on low and reduced the enchilada sauce to one can and used 4 fresh tomatoes chopped instead. The flavors were a lot more complex than I imagined they would be. I fried up some corn tortilla strips (about 1/2 inch by 2 inches) and topped the soup with them as well as an avocado slice and some crumbled queso fresco (Mexican white cheese). Chopped onions, fresh cilantro, shredded cabbage and chopped jalepenos can be used on top to garnish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved this dish. Very satisfying stew consistency, we didn't need to add beans to thicken as others before have mentioned. We are not hot and spicy lovers and I was a little apprehensive about this. I didn't add cayenne and used only a mild enchilada sauce, and a teaspoon of cumin. Instead of adding water I added only a cup and a half of chicken broth. We served it with wedges of lime, shredded cabbage and some crushed tortilla chips. This by far is the best dish that ever came out of my crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So quick and easy as well as very tasty! I was a little short of 2lbs of pork, so I made up for it with chicken breast. Except for that and using more salt, I made as directed. There is no doubt that I will be making this again and double, at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States