Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was SO good! My husband is mexican and he loved it! The only thing was that it needed a little more salt, but other then that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Knowing how to make traditional posole, I was skeptical of this recipe. I used chicken rather than pork because that's what I had. Being what I call a 'Throw Together' recipe (something you make from premade, usually canned seasoned items), this is really quite good. My entire family loved it. My father-in-law even duped my mother-in-law's dinner plans to stay for the soup (gotta love that!) and had several servings. I'd say, that makes this a pretty good recipe!! Thanks for sharing a much quicker version of this great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was very tasty. I used both green and red enchilada sauce. I agree that you don't need all the water. I added a can of corn and a can of pinto beans to reduce the "soupiness"..thus adding more flavor. I served it over brown rice with shredded cheddar cheese on top. This is better than any I've had in the Santa Fe restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wonderful soup! I'd never had posole before, and this was an excellent version. I also cut back on water, added cabbage and cumin. My husband said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
MY WHOLE FAMIL LOVED THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Everyone I have made this for loves it! I tend to use chicken rather than pork and I leave out the oregano, otherwise, there are no changes needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My family makes this all the time and I never could get this recipe right. Thank you for submitted this recipes it was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
WOW! This soup is fantastic. I made a few changes based on other postings. I only added a cup and a half of water, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin (instead of 1/2 teaspoon cayenne), mild enchilada sauce (still very spicy), only 1 and a half cups water, and 1/2 cup of cilantro. When I served it, I served it with lime and chili refried beans, cheese, sour cream, and chives. I am from Santa Fe New Mexico and have had many versions of Posole, and I think this is the best! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my, this was delish! Didn't have cilantro but added ground powdered chile powder from NM and it was so yummy- like when we lived in Albuquerque!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
this recipe was awesome!! My husband ate it up! I hardly had a sniff of it:) Will def make it again, but we're going to try it with the green sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Brittknee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States