Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good. Makes a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey DuBose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I had a flat pork "roast" shaped like a "7 bone beef chuck roast", most of these ingredients and no time so I threw this together in the crock pot. What a GREAT dinner it made! For speed I just browned the whole roast each side, threw two peeled and quartered potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, half the ingredients, then the meat and topped it with the rest of the ingredients. Personnaly we like mexican without the spice, so we used 1 can hominy, 1 can green mild enchilada sauce and 1 can tomatillos, with quite a bit of cumin. (no red sauce or cayenne). You only need add enough water or broth to barely cover the ingredients. I called it my "posole style" pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Pretty tasty! I made it a little less spicy as I am a big whimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Super delicious! Husband loved it! Instead of using water, I added beef broth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombiegirl1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolute best and so easy!!!! Have made it twice and making it again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
A five-star recipe with confidence. Don't worry about "too much water"--just add enough to cover ingredients. Don't worry about "too much pork"--it's a stew not a soup, and such things are left to personal taste anyway. I followed the recipe exactly and left it on the counter on LO for 7 hours. Added the cilantro for another 30 mins. Served it with the traditional finely sliced cabbage and a wedge of lime. The result was medium-thick, rich with meat and hominy, loaded with flavor and color. On the side served white flour tortillas, hot and puffy from the cast iron pan. What a wonderful dinner for a cold November week night. I highly recommend this recipe and will definitely make it again. It was perfect in every way. This dish is medium spicy. If you like less heat leave out the cayenne or use a little less enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I want to gush about this recipe, because it turned out to be SOO good!! I went to school in Mexico City and had been craving this dish, which Mexican mama used to make. This is very close to her recipe- savory and delicious- to say nothing of easy! I used center cut boneless pork chops and cut into cubes and split the enchilada sauce into half mild (frontera red chile flavor) and half medium (chi chis brand). Only cooked 4 and 1/2 hours on high as I didn't have time to cook it longer. Meat was still tender in shorter time but cook longer if you can to allow time for the flavors to meld. Left out the chilis 'cause I didn't have any but added dry red bell pepper flakes and changed the onions to diced instead of sliced. Subbed beef broth for water, and added the fresh cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime juice just before serving. Don't change the spices - they are perfect! Muchas gracias - es una receta fabulosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this recipe as recommended and it turned out fabulously! Not too much water at all. I am sure it depends on how much meat you put it and I think I was a little heavy no the meat. It's so simple but much better than a lot of the americanized pozole you find in the aericanized mexican restaurants! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The only thing I changed with this recipe is crucial, I don't add ANY water at all. There is plenty of moisture with the pork and enchilada sauce. I make this all the time and everyone really likes it, I serve it with cornbread for a simple and complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was a great tasting soup. I have never eaten hominy before but I sure will make this again. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States