Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really good! After researching the dish, I served it with tortilla chips and garnished each bowl with sliced radish, green onion, chopped cabbage, chopped cilantro, diced avocado and finished with a squeeze of lime. It tasted like something I would eat in a special mexican restaurant. My whole family loved it. It tastes healthy and is refreshing with added garnishes. Nice winter meal but different from other soups and stews. **I have used several brands of enchilada sauce for various recipes. I'm thinking that could make it or ruin it depending on what brand you use. I like yellow can Old El Paso brand. I used one mild/one hot...no cayenne pepper cause I didn't want it to be too hot. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never made posole before and this turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I never had posole but it was good i followed to a T but thought itwas a little spicy but still good my was not watery just make sure yiu are useing a 4 quartz pot and it will turn out right oh yea my husben liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
was fantastic!!! I used 5 cloves of garlic and threw the cilantro and salt in for the whole time then garnished with cut green onions, a squeeze of lime and French bread. t'was excellent...my hubby agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used chicken and had the traditional add in's shredded cabbage, sliced radishes, diced avocado, fresh oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a delicious version of Posole. Some reviewers have called it "gringo posole," but it tastes exactly like the Posole I had in a small Mexican town! I made a couple of changes to the original recipe. I didn't add much water, only about 1/2 cup. As it looked like it needed more water, I added the liquid from the hominy. I used 3 cans of hominy - one white & two yellow. I added 1 tsp. of cumin. I didn't chop the pork loin or brown it. I waited until it cooked for 6 hours, then I chopped it. The pork was moist and tender. No added salt. Served with chopped cabbage, green onions, radishes, avocados, and cilantro. We started with the soup and then added all the chopped extras. It was perfectly spicy and the crunchy additions made it colorful and healthy! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was incredibly flavorful! I used homemade enchilada sauce rather than canned, and cut the water per a couple of other comments but otherwise followed the recipe. Very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love the crock pot & spicy stew. This was stellar. Quick, easy to assemble and reheats beautifully. I kicked up the heat a bit in the bowl, but followed directions exactly this time in the crock. Already have the ingredients on the shopping list for a snow day pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this several times. My inlaws are hispanic and I was nervous to serve it to them but they loved it. My hubby raves about it. I did change it to what we are more used to as they make the tradition pesole in his family. In my version I used chicken breast, substituted chicken broth for the water. I used the mild red enchilada sauce. I also did not add the oregeno or onion, but instead used raw onion as a garnish on top. We served with tostada shells, onion cilantro, radishes,limes and sour cream . This is truely a keeper. One of my all time favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was very good. I added the juice of two lemons and instead of water, about a cup of chicken stock. The enchilada sauce and the canned green chilies I used were "hot" and wow, was this dish spicy--next time I'll use mild or medium enchilada sauce and chop my own chilies. Served over shredded green cabbage with tostadas, lime wedges, cilantro, and avocado cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States