Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh My Goodness!! This was absolutely amazing! Whenever I go out for mexican I always order posole. I love it! I never knew how to make it and when I found this recipe I was sooo excited to try it out! My fiancé and I were both in heaven! I was very impressed by this recipe. It was simple and tasted amazing! I did not add the green chiles which im glad I didnt because the spice was perfect and I think if I wouldve added the green chiles it wouldve been too spicy. Also I only added just a bit of cilantro toward the end of cooking then added a bit more to the individual servings. I served it with cabbage, onions, lime, and cilantro with corn muffins on the side! Yum! This is definitely a keeper and this is a great winter recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was surprisingly good for how simple it is. I used mild enchilada sauce, and 2 4oz cans of chopped green chilis, and left out the cayenne pepper and it was pretty spicy still. I ended up using three cans of hominy. added the last can about an hour before serving. I have a 7 quart slow cooker. I ended up putting in about 3 cans of water and that was plenty. I suggest this as a simple, filling delicious meal to come home to on a work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was amazing! Way better than I honestly expected! I made this exactly as stated except for the cook time since we are out of the house for 8 hours when we go to work. I combined everything like the recipe said to, and then just cooked the entire thing on low heat until we came home from work (about 8 hours later). Came out perfect! Just serve with some sour cream, diced onions, chopped jalapenos, and some avocado. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Delicious! Make this as is - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This nothing like Mexican Posole..Reading other reviews told me too many changes had to be made to this recipe. I followed the recipe and it was awful. Didn't care for the canned enchilada sauce. Not a good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I had pretty high hopes for this recipe. I did the chicken tortilla soup that is somewhat similar in that it used enchilada sauce as a base, and it was the bomb. This I thought was just ok. I followed the recipe, but only used about half the water, and did add 2 cups of chicken broth as well, which I used to scrape the yummy pork bits off the bottom of my La Cruiset after I browned it. I also added some Sazon (I think that is the name of it, little packets, I used 2 of them, probably MSG, really) seasoning that was recommended by a Hispanic friend when I made real posole in the past. I never would have dreamed this would need more salt, but when I had it in the bowl, I had to salt the out of it to bring out more flavor. I do think I would double the hominy if you like hominy. All this being said, my wife said she liked it. However, she really likes the corn torillas I serve with it. I put olive oil on corn torillas and bake them on a cast iron pizza pan at 400 degrees, they get sort of crispy/chewy and really are a great vehicle for this kind of soup. If you like this, try the chicken tortilla soup that got high ratings, it's really good. And make sure to try my tortilla thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My son made this last weekend for my visit and I thought it was so delicious, that I am making it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Best throw together ever. Quick easy and tastes great. I used a induction cooker because I like the way I can control the heat. I use this recipe for pot lucks because it's quick, easy and always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pantera
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was perfect! Instead of pork I used shredded chicken. I took another reviewers advice and added a bit more salt (1/2 tsp), and less water and it was on point. I have tasted authentic Mexican posole and this one taste just as good. I did use a Mexican brand of enchilada sauce, not sure if it makes a difference. In any case, do try this, and next time i will add one more 14oz can of hominy since i like it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is very much like the authentic mexican diner's pozole nearby. Except I only put 1 can of the enchilada sauce and added a lot of garlic flavored chicken broth. This is now a staple in our house. Very easy and very yummy. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States