Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This nothing like Mexican Posole..Reading other reviews told me too many changes had to be made to this recipe. I followed the recipe and it was awful. Didn't care for the canned enchilada sauce. Not a good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I had pretty high hopes for this recipe. I did the chicken tortilla soup that is somewhat similar in that it used enchilada sauce as a base, and it was the bomb. This I thought was just ok. I followed the recipe, but only used about half the water, and did add 2 cups of chicken broth as well, which I used to scrape the yummy pork bits off the bottom of my La Cruiset after I browned it. I also added some Sazon (I think that is the name of it, little packets, I used 2 of them, probably MSG, really) seasoning that was recommended by a Hispanic friend when I made real posole in the past. I never would have dreamed this would need more salt, but when I had it in the bowl, I had to salt the out of it to bring out more flavor. I do think I would double the hominy if you like hominy. All this being said, my wife said she liked it. However, she really likes the corn torillas I serve with it. I put olive oil on corn torillas and bake them on a cast iron pizza pan at 400 degrees, they get sort of crispy/chewy and really are a great vehicle for this kind of soup. If you like this, try the chicken tortilla soup that got high ratings, it's really good. And make sure to try my tortilla thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My son made this last weekend for my visit and I thought it was so delicious, that I am making it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Best throw together ever. Quick easy and tastes great. I used a induction cooker because I like the way I can control the heat. I use this recipe for pot lucks because it's quick, easy and always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pantera
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was perfect! Instead of pork I used shredded chicken. I took another reviewers advice and added a bit more salt (1/2 tsp), and less water and it was on point. I have tasted authentic Mexican posole and this one taste just as good. I did use a Mexican brand of enchilada sauce, not sure if it makes a difference. In any case, do try this, and next time i will add one more 14oz can of hominy since i like it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is very much like the authentic mexican diner's pozole nearby. Except I only put 1 can of the enchilada sauce and added a lot of garlic flavored chicken broth. This is now a staple in our house. Very easy and very yummy. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Really, this could be a '5' since it has a great taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Fantastic posole. I did add chicken stock instead of water and will take someone's advice next time and add 1/2 cup cilantro, but truly is fine as is. Family did not know the difference. The pork loin roast should be as good as possible, makes a difference. Serve with cabbage and spices and limes and voiila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I am Mexican and this is a delicious!I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out great! Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is the closest thing to the posole I've had in Mexico, make exactly as the recipe calls, absolutely delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States