Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was SO SO good!! My whole family and my neighbor really liked this. I'm so glad I decided to try this recipe. I for sure will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Wonderful recipe! I've made this twice now. First time was with pork and red enchilada sauce and that was so good! This time I made with chicken and green enchilada sauce and OMG it was hands down my favorite. I also subbed out the water and used chicken broth and because I love hominy, I added an extra can. Thank you Jules for a fabulous and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydi1515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Crazy good! I still can't believe how well this turned out . . . we absolutely loved it! I cut the recipe in half (as there was just 4 of us), and made a couple of adjustments based on what I had on hand. My can of enchilada sauce was only 10 ounces, so I opened the fridge to see what I could find to compensate for the 4.5 ounces . . . an open jar of Herdez salsa verde - yup, that'll work! I only had a 29 ounce can of hominy - so I added about half of it, filled the crockpot with the water, and then realized that the other half of the hominy would be fine, so I dumped it all in. I used a Reynold's liner to line my 4 qt. West Bend slow cooker, which made clean up a breeze. The temperature on my slow cooker goes from 1 to 5, 5 being the highest, and I cooked it on 3, so it wouldn't dry up all of the liquid. I did end up adding about another cup of water and 1 tsp. of chicken bouillon (skipping the salt) before serving, at hubs request (he likes more liquid). It was perfect! We will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Great flavor! A nice change in my typical slow cooker line up of chili and pulled chicken. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was easy to make and was done in 6 hours which resulted in melt in your mouth pork. Although the sauce was not specified so I used a verde sauce. I also used chicken broth in place of the water. I'll add a little more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by AngolaVoom
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Overall, this was a good recipe. Used chicken instead of pork as we are not big pork fans. Just cubed and browned 3 chicken breasts in Olive Oil and threw it in the slow cooker with the rest of the ingredients to cook (3 ended up being a lot, 2 would have been plenty). Only thing that was slightly off putting was that the red enchilada sauce turned the chicken very pink in color as well as the hominy. I actually used 60oz of Hominy. We liked the extra amount. Topped with onions, avocado, cilantro, lime and cabbage. Butter tortillas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I recently made this for a small group of family/new friends. I had made it once before and it was good enough for us at home, but wasn't sure what others would think, especially if they KNEW authentic Posole. Everyone loved it! the crockpot was gone! this is definitely a keeper, quick and easy if you have everything on hand, put it on before work or church and when you come back it will be all done. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Bailey
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Yup, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I am a novice in the kitchen know my way around the grill. Thought I would try this doubled the recipe because we eat hardy here. Set it up before work it was super simple and after shoveling snow all day to come home to this was awesome made me look like a big shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Jbb Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Delicious. I used pork stew meat to save time and money and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States