Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I never thought about making pozole in the crockpot until I came across this recipe! It's just as yummy cooked this way. The only change was that I added some pieces of chicken to the soup - that is how we've always made our pozole, a mix of pork/chicken. And I add a bit more fresh diced garlic since we love it. We serve our soup in a big bowl, add a scoop of refried beans( it thickens the soup) and add condiments - chopped onion/green onion/chopped cilantro/a pinch of oregano/a twist of some lemon or lime slices to taste. Delicious, filling, comfort food. Serve all year - not just for New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Knowing how to make traditional posole, I was skeptical of this recipe. I used chicken rather than pork because that's what I had. Being what I call a 'Throw Together' recipe (something you make from premade, usually canned seasoned items), this is really quite good. My entire family loved it. My father-in-law even duped my mother-in-law's dinner plans to stay for the soup (gotta love that!) and had several servings. I'd say, that makes this a pretty good recipe!! Thanks for sharing a much quicker version of this great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was SO good! My husband is mexican and he loved it! The only thing was that it needed a little more salt, but other then that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
WOW! This soup is fantastic. I made a few changes based on other postings. I only added a cup and a half of water, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin (instead of 1/2 teaspoon cayenne), mild enchilada sauce (still very spicy), only 1 and a half cups water, and 1/2 cup of cilantro. When I served it, I served it with lime and chili refried beans, cheese, sour cream, and chives. I am from Santa Fe New Mexico and have had many versions of Posole, and I think this is the best! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Quick and easy. I used a powdered enchilada mix that adds tomato paste and water. It doesn't seem as spicy to me and easier on the kids. I don't recommend adding the extra water. Mine was too watery for me. And next time I think I will add the hominy more towards the end so that it stays firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
a traditional posole uses california chili peppers dired not enchilada sauce this is a gringo version no bueno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettycoolme209

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is excellent. I made it with homemade chicken stock instead of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I recommend using mild or medium spicy enchilada sauce. I used spicy hot and it was way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I usually make Posole from scratch and was pleasantly surprised that this "throw-together" version turned out so well. I would recommened cooking it the day before so that the flavors blend and soften. I used chicken broth and chicken and servered over shredded cabbage. I served with traditional accompaniments: lime wedges, radishes, cabbage, dried oregano and chili sauces. It really turned otu great! I did use a "gourmet" brand enchilada sauce from our upscale neighborhood store. Next time, I'll try it with green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was very tasty. I used both green and red enchilada sauce. I agree that you don't need all the water. I added a can of corn and a can of pinto beans to reduce the "soupiness"..thus adding more flavor. I served it over brown rice with shredded cheddar cheese on top. This is better than any I've had in the Santa Fe restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
To sum things up, I'm a white girl and my husband is Mexican. He's used to his mom's pozole, so I was nervous about making this. To my surprise, he loved it! Even called is family to say how good I can make pozole. Next time I may leave out the onions. It added to the flavor, but the onion slices aren't traditional and threw us off a bit. I also made this a little more simpler by eliminating the step of cubing the meat. I added a whole pork loin. It falls about eventually, so I didn't see the need for cutting it. I also added more hominy and a packet of Goya Sazon seasoning (that stuff is great in/on almost everything, it's a secret ingredient I use often).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannabeBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States