Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this recipe twice. Each time adding chicken with the pork as anothers said to try. Both times i got rave reviews. No salt needed as the taste was perfect. Follow as directed and you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gosox05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious, easy and healthy! I might use a little less cayenne pepper next time and think I will search the site for my own enchilada sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow. Despite the high rating, I was hesitant about this recipe. Perhaps it sounded a little too good to be true? I mean, talk about simple! I used half chicken and half pork, seasoned them with salt and pepper and sauteed them before dumping it into the crock pot. Then I sauteed the onions and garlic before dumping them into the crock pot. I used 1/2 the recommended cayenne pepper plus another 1/4 tsp cumin. At the end, I added about 1 cup of cilantro and did not add more salt. I served with rice, more cilantro, and lime wedges. Yum. The soup was too spicy for my little ones, but they gobbled the meat out of it, along with the rice. My picky husband loved it. This is a definite keeper. And healthy to boot!! Thanks for posting Jules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Absolutely delish. First time I made it, made exactly as written, superb! Made it again tonight, but used green enchilada sauce vs the red, and I'm thinking I may like green better. I did use chicken broth in lieu of water... Make sure you dont skimp on the seasonings. Rating this a 5+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good. I had the cilantro in the fridge but forgot to add it. Used one can white and one can yellow hominy. Will make again for sure. I cooked on low for about 6-7 hours and it was perfect. I don't think you need high heat for that period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday. I was missing a couple of the ingredients, but followed the general recipe (missing green chilies). It is really quite good, although spicier than the traditioanl pasole that I have had previously. Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Great Posole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used the green enchilada sauce and eliminated the seperate addition of green chilies, because thats what makes the sauce greeed. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very good very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It was a dark and stormy night ... and this Posole was absolute perfection. I ORCA'd it and scaled way down on the liquid, but YUM! Have never tried hominy before - love at first bite. Thx so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States