Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Before tonight I have never tried posole so I cannot contest on it's authenticity but my whole family really enjoyed it. Not only was it filling it was the perfect meal for those of us that seem to be coming down wit h something. I didn't stray too much from the recipe but I do want to comment on what I did differently. First off, I didn't have a pork loin roast, so instead I had some country style boneless pork ribs that needed using so I cubed that up. I skipped the browning step all together, just threw that meat into the slow cooker completely raw. I used 2 seeded jalapenos and 1 (8 oz.) can green chilies. I used mild enchilada sauce and added about 1 3/4 cup of water. It smelled SO good cooking all afternoon and I couldn't wait to try it. I read many comments and topped it with a variety of items that people suggested.... shredded cabbage, chopped onion, chopped cilantro, sliced radishes, light sour cream, avocado and a wedge of lime. Only thing I think I would do differently next time is adding some more hominy, we really liked the hominy in it. Will make this again, FOR SURE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great easy way to make Posole! Don't forget the garnishes. Cabbage, radishes, cilantro, lime wedges, avocado......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I really liked this -- very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was great! I agree with the other feedback to use mild enchilada sauce vs. med or hot. I cooked it for my family using med and they found it to be a bit spicy. I served it with fresh cabbage on top and it was great! I threw it together in 5 min before running to work and I was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I was skeptical to make this recipe as I am used to the authentic homemade posole that my mother-in-law makes. WOW!! I am pleased to say that this tasted just like hers! I cannot believe how authentic it tastes and how easy it was to make. I followed the recipe exact only changing things that other reviewers suggested. I used 1 anaheim chile pepper and found it was the perfect amount of spice. Instead of water, I also used organic chicken broth and used no cilantro and made with chicken breasts. I also substituted 1 TBS onion powder for the raw onion. I ate it traditionally served with shredded cabbage, diced onions and radishes and a squeeze of lime juice and tapatio with tostadas on the side. Excellent! I already can't wait to make another batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 00Angela00
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We used mild green chilis, mild enchilada sauce, and skipped the cayenne pepper and it was still a little spicy for my husband and 2 year old. The two year old still ate 2nds even though complaining the whole time that it was hot. haha. Really yummy, we garnished it with shredded cabbage which was yummy yummy. We unfortunately didn't have any limes, and it felt like it was missing something so I'm sure that would have made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! This was really good!!! My hubs prefers Ken's kickin' posole, but then again, he isn't the one slaving over the stove to make it lol. :-) I agree. Ken's posole is much more sophisticated (for lack of better words...). It has multiple layers of flavor - and a laundry list of steps to achieve that. For a simple, throw together posole, this is just fine for me. Since I had a leftover pork loin roast handy, I halved this (I made Lancaster County pork and sauerkraut last night, and to my surprise, the roast I purchased was conveniently cut in half, allowing me to use part then and the rest today). To impart a little extra flavor, I sauteed my onion / garlic in my pork juices and then deglazed that with a bit of chicken broth (why waste the yummy browned bits??!!?!?). I also used two (10 oz.) cans of mild enchilada sauce (I didn't want to waste half a can) and subbed chicken broth for the water called for. I added an entire 4 oz. can of diced green chilies and both yellow AND white hominy (my slow cooker was plenty large enough to accommodate). Garnishing bowlfuls with shredded cabbage, sliced radish, chopped cilantro, diced avocado and a squeeze of lime made this extra special (all are cheap garnishes that add a LOT of oomph, IMHO). Warm corn tortillas and my hubby's homemade agave margaritas completed our YUMMY meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jules! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
it was good and easy but next time I will use something other than hominy.. great cooking aroma too. I used one can of red enchalada sauce and one yellow which had the jalapeno in also. I used chicken and beef but think that shredded meat would be better also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I would eat this once a week if my husband would allow it. In fact, I have some in the freezer right now that I'm thinking about having for dinner. Perfect served with some shredded cabbage stirred in with a squeeze of lime and a fried corn tortilla on the side. Delicious and good for you, without the tortilla I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
awesome!!! Top 2 i have ever had. Better then my in laws authentic says my husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States