Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
was fantastic!!! I used 5 cloves of garlic and threw the cilantro and salt in for the whole time then garnished with cut green onions, a squeeze of lime and French bread. t'was excellent...my hubby agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used chicken and had the traditional add in's shredded cabbage, sliced radishes, diced avocado, fresh oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a delicious version of Posole. Some reviewers have called it "gringo posole," but it tastes exactly like the Posole I had in a small Mexican town! I made a couple of changes to the original recipe. I didn't add much water, only about 1/2 cup. As it looked like it needed more water, I added the liquid from the hominy. I used 3 cans of hominy - one white & two yellow. I added 1 tsp. of cumin. I didn't chop the pork loin or brown it. I waited until it cooked for 6 hours, then I chopped it. The pork was moist and tender. No added salt. Served with chopped cabbage, green onions, radishes, avocados, and cilantro. We started with the soup and then added all the chopped extras. It was perfectly spicy and the crunchy additions made it colorful and healthy! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was incredibly flavorful! I used homemade enchilada sauce rather than canned, and cut the water per a couple of other comments but otherwise followed the recipe. Very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love the crock pot & spicy stew. This was stellar. Quick, easy to assemble and reheats beautifully. I kicked up the heat a bit in the bowl, but followed directions exactly this time in the crock. Already have the ingredients on the shopping list for a snow day pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this several times. My inlaws are hispanic and I was nervous to serve it to them but they loved it. My hubby raves about it. I did change it to what we are more used to as they make the tradition pesole in his family. In my version I used chicken breast, substituted chicken broth for the water. I used the mild red enchilada sauce. I also did not add the oregeno or onion, but instead used raw onion as a garnish on top. We served with tostada shells, onion cilantro, radishes,limes and sour cream . This is truely a keeper. One of my all time favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was very good. I added the juice of two lemons and instead of water, about a cup of chicken stock. The enchilada sauce and the canned green chilies I used were "hot" and wow, was this dish spicy--next time I'll use mild or medium enchilada sauce and chop my own chilies. Served over shredded green cabbage with tostadas, lime wedges, cilantro, and avocado cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good. Makes a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey DuBose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I had a flat pork "roast" shaped like a "7 bone beef chuck roast", most of these ingredients and no time so I threw this together in the crock pot. What a GREAT dinner it made! For speed I just browned the whole roast each side, threw two peeled and quartered potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, half the ingredients, then the meat and topped it with the rest of the ingredients. Personnaly we like mexican without the spice, so we used 1 can hominy, 1 can green mild enchilada sauce and 1 can tomatillos, with quite a bit of cumin. (no red sauce or cayenne). You only need add enough water or broth to barely cover the ingredients. I called it my "posole style" pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Pretty tasty! I made it a little less spicy as I am a big whimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States