Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I usually make my posole homemade, but decided to make this version...what an alternative if you want the flavors without all the hard work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used chicken instead of pork, chicken broth instead of water and cooked it on the stove top .. I also had some leftover wild rice in the fridge to add to it at the end .. was delicious and would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I'd never had Posole until I found this recipe and I love it. I usually add a can of pinto beans and substitute chicken for the meat. Thanks, Jules, for introducing me to Posole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by zoomimage
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was so good. We used beef stock instead of water . hominy was very hard to find out here in Mississauga , But I did find it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoomimage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I think the key to this dish working is the quality of the enchilada sauce since that's where most of the flavor is coming from. Some of the more commercial brands may not have the quality ingredients to give it good flavor. I use one can of mild and one can of medium enchilada sauce made by Hatch, a brand that Whole Foods carries. I also use 3 lbs of pork shoulder since it has more fat and more flavor than the loin and remains very tender. I season it with s&p before browning it in olive oil and I add chicken broth rather than water to the cooker and an extra can of hominy. Otherwise I follow the recipe, sometimes leaving the cayenne out if I'm having guests who may not like too much heat. The garnishes are essential to the success of the dish and should not be left out. One last change is that I think the 6 - 7 hour cooking time should be on low. I've cooked it on high but only for 4 hours. I have no idea if this is authentic or not but what does it matter when it tastes so good?!? I've made this several times and its always been extremely well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Used Juanita's brand hominy; consider doubling amount recipe calls for. Used Las Palmas enchilada sauce, mild; diced up a green chili pepper. Soup was VERY spicy! Good served with guacamole, and I suggest sour cream (especially if you need something to cut the spiciness with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
good flavor, but needs more umph! Such as beans, or diced peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've never made because I thought it would be hard to make, but this was easy and really good. My brother wants me to make it all the time now. My fiance and his mom are El Salvadoran and they loved it. My mother in law said now this is how you make it. When your mother in law approves then must be good. Thank you. Actually making tonight again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and the WHOLE family ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very easy to make. My husband is Mexican and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States