Slow Cooker Posole with Pork and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is wonderful. It tastes so much like some of the food I had while in San Antonio, TX. We've had it once as the soup-like serving. I am making a double batch to have some as sandwiches and some in enchiladas with the green sauce. The first time I added the cumin, but this time I am leaving it out. I have also left out the green chilies as I do not personally care for them. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! Its REALLY easy, cheap, and my family loves it. Sometimes I throw in cabbage, quinoa, or brown rice--- or whatever veggies I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm such an idiot. I put in a one can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. The recipe calles for ONE PEPPER. Don't screw that up. My mouth is on fire from taking a taste of this. The whole pot is ruined :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A-BANANNA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is a favorite now! I cooked it over the stove & for the meat I used the pork chops & chicken breast I had. I chopped up 2 porkchops(bone & all) & a whole chicken breast & a half YUM..YUM! I cooked it down until it reached a think gravey. It is slighty spicy but oh so good! We had mexican rice & refied black beans as a side. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-BANANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this last night and it turned out fabulous. I ended up doubling the recipe because of the size pork roast I had. I followed the recipe exactly with only one exception. Toward the end of cooking I added one large can of green enchilada sauce, medium heat. I divided the batch and took half to my Mom and Stepfather, along with some cornbread, and they loved it! Thanks for the great recipe. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was really good. Topped with grated cheese when serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
YUUUUUMMMM! I used some skinned turkey drumsticks in place of the pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I fixed this recipe on Christmas Eve for my family and they loved it! It will be a family tradition for the following Christmas holidays. Thanks for sharing! Doris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
great taste, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Love this recipe. I basically had to make this with what I had on hand (live in country). I had 2 cans of hominy...so, that is what peaked my interest in this recipe. I used 2 small (pretty lean) pork shanks; 6 chicken tenders and 1 can of Rotelo. I did not have the Chipolte pepper or the can of green chilies. I had the remaining ingredients; threw it all together in my slow cooker and it was one of the best soups I have ever made. Some friends drop by today and they loved the soup - served with warm tortillas. I added a dollop of sour cream (to cool it off a bit). I think the slow cooker really makes the difference with infusing all the flavors. Thank you for this recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy
Home Town: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States