Slow Cooker Posole with Pork and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was really good, though i had no chipotles and, instead, used a 16 oz. Jar of Mazetti's roasted green chiles with lime and cilantro. Like a cross between NM green chile stew and traditional posole, yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Almost perfect for me. I don't get the chipotle pepper adobe sauce addition, though. I added chili pequeno, tomatillos and paprika. Helped me win a chili cookoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made the mistake most readers did and used the entire can of chipotle peppers. If you made the same mistake I did and want to save soup, pour the entire soup out including garlic and onion. Save chicken and hominy. Re add a new can of green peppers, cumin, oregano and broth and rinse chicken and hominy. Do not re add chipotle peppers or garlic. This will save your soup and taste delicious. I made this soup again two weeks later, following the exact directions using one chipotle pepper and it is so delicious. Great soup to make and have for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Love this recipe. I basically had to make this with what I had on hand (live in country). I had 2 cans of hominy...so, that is what peaked my interest in this recipe. I used 2 small (pretty lean) pork shanks; 6 chicken tenders and 1 can of Rotelo. I did not have the Chipolte pepper or the can of green chilies. I had the remaining ingredients; threw it all together in my slow cooker and it was one of the best soups I have ever made. Some friends drop by today and they loved the soup - served with warm tortillas. I added a dollop of sour cream (to cool it off a bit). I think the slow cooker really makes the difference with infusing all the flavors. Thank you for this recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy
Home Town: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
...if it wasn't for the Chipotle pepper[s] this wasn't a prized dish by any means, but it could be a great dish for using leftovers. If I ever make this again.., this is doubtful.., I'd try to get as much pork flavor as possible. The primary ambition for this New Years day slop-soup? We made our slow-cooker Pasole with a small pork chop and 1/2 lbs. of leftover turkey, and turkey stock; with this twist into leftover mayhem, the hint of smokey chipotle goodness, and the New Mexican textures is what's best about this dish; we served it strained in a soup bowl. Pretty bland. The hominy and pork are the keys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! Its REALLY easy, cheap, and my family loves it. Sometimes I throw in cabbage, quinoa, or brown rice--- or whatever veggies I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great foundation recipe. I substituted 2 fresh jalapenos for the chipotle (that's more traditional to me) and doubled the garlic. Next time, I think I'll add some canned tomatoes, too. As promised, it does freeze well. Serve with radishes, cilantro, and a tortilla for traditional New Mexican flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
i have never cooked or eated hominy, i didn't add the pork, but i think it would be a wonderful addition. next time i would add more garlic. def a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I had a 2 lb pork loin roast fillet [I think that's the cut (=]. I doubled the recipe and left out the chicken. I threw everything into the crockpot and went to bed while it cooked. I started on high and turned it down to warm an hour later. The onion wasn't soft after 8 hours, so I turned it back up to high and let it cook another hour. I fished the pork out and cut it up - next time I will cut the meat up before putting it in the pot. I think it could easily take another chipotle pepper. Very good (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
great taste, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States