Slow Cooker Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was great. We added a can of diced tomatoes, 3 tsps of minced garlic, a pinch of onion powder, and 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar. Cooked on low for 8 hours and it was very tender and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is my new favorite way to cook pork chops (as long as I have the time). I season the chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I'm rather fond of sauerkraut, so I use two 14.5 oz cans. After 8 hours on low in my slow cooker, the chops are 'fall apart tender'. I like to serve this with the Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was easy to do but very, very bland. I had spiced it up by adding Old Bay to the flour dredge, a pound of fresh mushrooms and a lot of garlic and it still came out flavorless. The meat was fall off the bone tender, though. I don't think I would make it again without nearly rewriting the recipe from scratch. My son liked it over egg noodles but he would eat nearly anything over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Wasn't really sure about this one... but my whole family really liked it. And... it was just SO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julzygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Not bad. I added an apple to it and it cut down on the sharpness of the sauerkraut. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Good basic ingredients. I have a large slow cooker and we like to get more than one meal from a recipe. So I used 8 pork chops, a large (64 ounce) jar of sauerkraut from Costco, one onion(thinly sliced), and one Granny Smith apple, chopped. I seasoned and browned the pork chops first, then layered 4 chops, half the kraut, remaining four chops, then remaining kraut. Next time I will add caraway seeds to each sauerkraut layer as I do think that's a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a hard one to rate. I would've just given it 2.5 if I could but the site doesn't let you. First problem was, sauerkraut is sour. Period. Sauerkraut has been a staple in my life since I started eating solid food...lol...so I knew throwing plain sauerkraut in the crock would not go well. Called mom...told me to add a little less than 2 Tablespoons sugar and mix in a bit of caraway. It didn't look like enough liquid but my mom assured me the sauerkraut would eek out liquid as it cooked. Done. I read all the reviews and decided to follow the advise of adding in potatoes (I added a small--two bite--variety called "Honey Gold") and bacon. I put in my pork chops, sauerkraut mixed with potatoes, and layered bacon over the top. After cooking for close to the recommended time, I discarded the bacon (way overcooked to serve with the recipe), and tested doneness of everything. (My mom was right on the sauerkraut adding enough juice to the recipe.) The potatoes were perfect, as was the sauerkraut...SO yummy! When I tried pulling out a chunk of pork to test though...it just fell apart. I could hardly get any substantial pieces out and what I did was SO INCREDIBLY DRY,The pork tasted *ok* I guess...but it was a complete disaster bc it was over-cooked. We didn't want to waste it. However, we obviously didn't want to eat the pork, and it was almost impossible to scoop out spoonfuls without shreds of the pork with it. Next time this will be with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L Ten Eyck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I make slow-cooker pork chops and sauerkraut fairly frequently, and my recipe is like Kathy's original except with the addition of a little beef broth. After reading some of the other reviews, I added a few things to last night's version: dusted the chops on both sides with hubby's "magic dust" for grilled steaks, sprinkled the sauerkraut with a little brown sugar and added two Macoun apples, cored and sliced but not peeled. I came in from raking leaves and it smelled as much like autumn inside as it did outside. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
THis was really good! The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to sprinkle the pork chops with garlic salt and black pepper. Otherwise, I followed it. It cooked for 11.5 hours. It was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is wonderful just like it is. I don't think it needs anything else. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States