Slow Cooker Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I used 6 boneless chops, sprinkled with smoked salt and browned in butter before putting in crockpot. Poured the sauerkraut over them and quartered some new potatoes and added. Poured one bottle of beer over everything... turned out awesome and tender. The kraut mellows out in taste, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Tried this today. Put it on before church and was perfect when we got home. It was wonderful and will diffiently cook again. We seared the pork chops, and used pork loin chops (thick cut)and poured a beer in. The chops were tender, falling apart, but very juicy. Will make a larger recipe next time though. Not much left. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ball, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My father was a child during the depression. This was something his mother made for her boys. Just as is - no tweaking. No apples, caraway seed, onions, bacon or tomatoes. He wouldn't eat it if it wasn't the way his mother made it. His palate couldn't or wouldn't adapt. She did have baking powder dumplings simmering on the top. It was served to him over boiled potatoes, peeled and cut into bite-size pieces. I could enjoy any of the other versions but this is the one I grew up with and it will always have a special place in my heart. Good food doesn't have to get complicated. It reminds me of my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestlover
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I really love this receipe! I added some cloves at the begining to the cooker for that extra taste and aroma. Applesauce went really well on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
i've made this recipe many times and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great easy dinner - We put in crock pot on high, left for 4 hours, came home, made mashed potatoes with this and dinner was ready. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have made this for years but I use thick pork ribs or a roast, I add potato's and onions. I season the ribs with garlic powder, salt and pepper and brown them before I put them in the slow cooker with the potato's onion and kraut. My x mother in law used to rinse the kraut but I like the flavor better unrinsed. I make macaroni and put everything on top and mix. GREAT STUFF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
A good beginning but a chopped apple, thinly sliced onion and some caraway seeds really add to it. The apple and onion help make it easier on the tummy (less gas). Also, I use a pork roast and I brown it first. Serve with mashed potatoes and pumpernickle bread. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I give it five stars for simplicity. To make it even more delicious, mix 6 slices cooked, crumpled bacon and 2 tablespoons brown sugar to the saurkraut at end of cooking. Then it's a five star in taste too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have been naking this for years with a few little additions-as all say this is a great basic recipe-I brown my BONELESS pork chops-this way you don't have pesky pieces of bones in it-with flour, s&p first. Then I layer with sauerkraut, applesauce, pork chops, garlic minced and caraway seeds-God Bless my deceased mother in law from years ago-she made this when crock pots were a glimmer in scientists eyes-Thanks Dot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States