Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Hmmm! Friend gave me recipe late 90's very similar to this one, added bit more dried oregano & some hot sauce, served with garlic bread. Family request @ least twice per week (no leftovers).Recipe from the 50's friend said. Enjoy & share. keenpetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Excellent porcupine meatball recipe. I liked the sauce much better than tomato soup. Of course, I used some fresh onions and peppers, some smoked paprika and more garlic. What I did notice in the video was that the pan used to brown the meatballs was not deglazed. All that beautiful fond going to waste! I took some of the beef broth and deglazed the pan and then added it to the sauce ingredients. Can't say it made a huge difference, but I wasn't going to let all that flavor go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe is so similar to what my mom used to make. She used to put the beef/rice mixture into hollowed-out fresh, green peppers; add a can or two of tomato soup and cook away. Then she would serve the meatball-stuffed green peppers over mashed potatoes. This recipe sounds even tastier; I plan on trying it soon. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good recipe. I used fresh veggies instead of frozen and added half a can of tomato paste, about 2 table spoons of sugar and twice the cayenne as they call for. Served on hoagie buns and people loved it! I'll for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
The meatballs fell apart and they are very bland. It truly just tastes like watered down tomato sauce. I don't know why there is rice added to the meatballs either because it makes them mushy. Even adding spiced, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Late '80s a lady friend gave me a recipe for "Porcupine Meatballs" our family enjoyed it so much that I would make it twice a week. The one plus with this recipe is no hot oven in summer & it's simply "mix it together & forget it", can also freeze in smaller portions, a +++ meal.Delicous! keenpetite aka Carmen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Recipe was easier than I thought it would be but not as flavorful as I thought it would be. I will try again but maybe add some more spices or try a different pasta sauce. On a good note, I made for a potluck and I didn't bring any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Just...ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Brayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
thanks, this was good. i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I loved it. I made the meatballs 2" and browned them in my bella meatball maker. I used my own sauce and cut up fresh red and orange peppers in 1 1/2 inch wide strips. Adjusted the seasonings and it was fantastic. making it again tonight for my husband's work potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States