Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
For real efficiency, I make about 5 batches at once on a weekend day. Once they are browned, freeze them in a zipper-freezer bag. In the morning, dump the whole frozen blob into your slow cooker, poor over the sauce and go to work. I switch up the veggies and leave the bay leaf out, add garlic. Doesn't really matter. Do it like Mom did except by freezing ahead you've got dinner on those busy week nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These were delicious!! I didnt pay attention to time and ended up doing them half the time and on high in the slow cooker...will definatley make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Made recipe exact. The meatballs fell apart and the sauce just tasted like watered down tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I thought this was an excellent recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part, I added a little worshshire to the meatball, I didnt have basil so I added italian seasoning. I was hoping that the balls didnt fall apart during cooking and they stayed together great! I thought they had great flavor. I served it over rice. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and his coworkers have had the winter doldrums lately, so because it was Groundhog Day, I decided to send a double batch of porcupines. This recipe caught my eye because it is specifically for slow cooker, which is what is great for work. I confess I only used the sauce from this recipe but am so glad I did! It was a HUGE hit, and the coworkers have informed me that they expect "groundhogs" with this sauce again next year on February 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
good! meatballs fell apart a bit...sauce was really good. i used fresh peppers and onion, and would do it that way every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
these r very good. my family loved them and we didnt have any problems with hard rice they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The meatballs themselves were somewhat bland and I would spice more next time. THe sauce and cooking method was spot on and overall a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. We used fresh asparagus rather than onion and green pepper stirfry. We ate this recipe as meatball sandwiches and had the asparagus on the side. Since the asparagus was cooked in the crock pot with the meatballs it was great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Strange how my experience was so different from others -- very bland meatballs that were strangely dry, considering all the time they spent in the sauce. Ended up mashing the lot together and making it into meat sauce, which was okay, but clearly not what we were expecting. Sorry, this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States