Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I made this today! It was yummy! I didn't add the bell pepper because I don't like them, I used Italian Seasoning because I didn't realize I was out of oregano. And I used smoked ham shanks instead of the ham pieces and took it off of the bone when it was done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is a great recipe especially when served with some cornbread. I omitted the lard and used smoked turkey instead of the ham. If you use smoke turkey ( I used a wing) make sure you have a large crock pot to fit all the ingredients. Once everything is cooked, you should be able to pull the bone out of the pot while the meat falls off effortlessly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Meeks
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I used beef bouillon because that's what I had, and a red pepper instead of green. I soaked only for an hour and a half, not overnight, then cooked it on low for an hour and a half before putting it on high for the six hours. It turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Meeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Wygocki
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I am not a big fan of beans, but this recipe looked good. It is not, it's fantastic! I used bacon instead of ham and celery seeds instead of celery because I didn't want to run to the store for two ingredients. These beans are super flavorful as a side and they added a lot of flavor to my chili. My biggest issue with dried beans is the texture, but these turned out wonderfully creamy and plump. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Wygocki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this recipe for a vegetarian church potluck today; at first, I thought I'd take it home, because it didn't look appetizing -- the overnight cooking and extended time on "warm" made it look dark and questionable, but it was gone, baby, gone! Because it is an all-vegetarian potluck, I omitted the ham and lard, used MorningStar beef-like crumbles, and kicked up the flavor by adding McKay's Beef-Like broth/seasoning. I used half a green bell pepper, saving the other half for our salads. Husband loved it, picky Daughter had two servings, and I even got to scrape the crockpot and have a spoonful over my rice. I plan to make this again for my little family, keeping it vegetarian. Normally I do not like pinto beans, and usually only have them refried. This is definitely a keeper, and I know it'll be good for church potlucks. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oweary1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious! Very flavorful! I had leftover ham bone (with a good amount of meat on it) from Christmas and used that rather than diced ham and lard. Took out the bone after cook time and removed and shredded the meat. Mmmmm... Cornbread and you've got supper! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Did not use celery because I didn't have any. Used 1/2 pound cooked bacon instead of ham and a 1/2 a jar of pimentos instead of bell pepper because I had an open jar on hand. It was super. Would make it the same way again - especially the bacon instead of ham. Also, cooked it on low for 11 hr and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are FANTASTIC! I was going up a traditional Southern family recipe when I tried these, so I knew it would have to turn out well to be enjoyed. These were declared to be BETTER than the family recipe. This is going to be the standard recipe in our house from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I left the bell pepper out. I used a turkey leg and not ham. I added just a little salt to each bowl before serving. It turned out great. Everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Took out the pork and used butter instead if lard, the. Added in some chili powder for spice. Beans came out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States