Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Did not use celery because I didn't have any. Used 1/2 pound cooked bacon instead of ham and a 1/2 a jar of pimentos instead of bell pepper because I had an open jar on hand. It was super. Would make it the same way again - especially the bacon instead of ham. Also, cooked it on low for 11 hr and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are FANTASTIC! I was going up a traditional Southern family recipe when I tried these, so I knew it would have to turn out well to be enjoyed. These were declared to be BETTER than the family recipe. This is going to be the standard recipe in our house from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I left the bell pepper out. I used a turkey leg and not ham. I added just a little salt to each bowl before serving. It turned out great. Everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Took out the pork and used butter instead if lard, the. Added in some chili powder for spice. Beans came out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My husband enjoyed the recipe. I ended up adding additional garlic and a few other odds & ends with spices. We have thrown in cooked chicken fajita meat (green bell peppers & onions included) that I had canned, as well as some pork stew meat. Both times the meat has come out amazingly tender. The key to this recipe is most definitely allowing the beans to soak overnight! Thanks for the great recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe, we didn't use the oregano or the lard I used smoked ham. Very good flavor will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Greatest pinto bean recipe ever!!! With this recipe I can cook beans better than my mother and she is an awesome cook. Definitely soak your beans overnight of cook for almost twice the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious! I've made this twice now and my kids, husband and I all love it! The second time I made it I used just 1/2 the ham because I thought it had a bit too much the first time and it was perfect with less. Other than that, the seasonings are exactly right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was a hit! I did not use meat, just diced an extra onions and green pepper in its place. Also used coconut oil in place of lard. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was the best beans I have ever had,however I do not cook them in slow cooker cooked them in pot I doubled the recipe and I had more beans than ever so gave to my oldest son and they loved them they ate them with burgers said they were great. I will make again thinking about canning a batch for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States