Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
this was good i soaked my beans over night and didnt use green pepper i didnt have any but it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
The beans were soft, but the recipe was too spicy for my kids. Next time, I will not use as much cumin and add some sweetness to compliment the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Pretty much how we make our beans, only we use bacon instead of ham, and jalapenos instead of bell pepper. Also, no celery...and we use equal amounts of cumin and oregano. About a tsp each per pound of beans being cooked. This was a nice change though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I thought that this dish turned out very well! I used all of the ingredients except omitted the celery and onion (forgot to purchase) and substituted bacon for the ham. Because I used bacon, I also did not add any lard. I like to leave my bell pepper in halves instead of chopping. After the beans have been cooking for hours, the bell peppers broke up into nice, bite-sized pieces so it saved me a bit of time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used the seasonings in this recipe and thought the flavor was delicious. I did use a ham shank instead of diced ham, and kale instead of bell pepper and added carrots too, since thats what I had on hand. I the veg up in the FP and added the last 2 hrs of 7 hrs in the slow cooker. My son came home to these and hamemade bread and butter..a comfort meal made in heaven...yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
tI tried this recipe, except I used my pressure cooker, after soaking beans. The only other changes I made was to replace green pepper with a roasted pepper, and no meat. It was absolutely delicious! Definitely my favorite pinto bean recipe, in face I'm making some more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used my own chicken broth, made with a bone in, skin on chicken, so, I didn't add the lard. Subb'd the green bell pepper for poblano. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Loved this base recipe & made some changes based on ingredients I had on hand. I substituted a can of rotele chilies for bell pepper, tossed in some cayenne & a few splashes of Tabasco. Mmmmmm, we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
The beans turned out very bland and flavorless, so I added about a cup of brown sugar and ketchup and mustard to make them more like barbeque beans since we were having them with bbq chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minka1340

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Instead of ham used 2 smoked turkey legs. Great taste and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States