Slow Cooker Pinto Bean Bonanza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really enjoyed this! I was'nt sure the beans would get done with only a 30 minute precook and no soaking, but they were tender. I still think next time I will soak overnight. That being said, couldn't come up with the ranch beans, used a can of hot chili beans instead. Put two hot home canned peppers cut in half in with the rest of the mix. Used regular vinegar, out of apple cider kind! And totally forgot the bell pepper( which was ok anyway). Put over white rice with some cheese and scallions, some cornbread, and Mmmmmmmm. Good stuff Danger, thanks! Oh, one more thing, the dried onions.. next time I will use regular onions, I just like onions in with my pinto beans. I did cook this on high for 4 hours, I just couldn't wait to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
So, so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used cajun sausage instead of kielbasa. My hubby ejoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I skipped the bacon & tomato paste & used turkey sausage. Can't wait to eat leftovers today! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is really great. I have to admit, not exactly what I was expecting, but very tasty! I doubled the recipe. Also I went ahead & soaked the beans overnight then realized I didn't know how much water I'd used. So I had to guestimate on the liquid. I ended up using 1 qt + 1 can of chicken broth (instead of water) plus about 2-3 cups of water. I also forgot about the green onion, but doubt that mattered. Great Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These beans are awesome. I used smoked sausage instead of kielbasa, and fresh jalapenos instead of pickled, and fresh onions instead of dried. Love this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good over rice! Taste sort of like pork and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Serve wrapped in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I followed the recommendations of other users and my own tastes to sub 1 cup diced onion for the dried onion and onion powder, and I used a light kielbasa...as I was short on time I cooked for 2 hours on high and finished for 5 hours on low.... topped with shredded pepper jack and scallions as noted and served over rice.... really a terrific recipe that both my husband and I just loved. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Yummy! I couldn't really taste any bacon, so that could probably be left out next time. I also used cloves of garlic and a whole onion because that's what I had on hand. This made the house smell great! Served it with tortilla chips and sour cream, easy inexpensive dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Turned out perfect. Even my picky children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States