Slow Cooker Pinto Bean Bonanza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
For a dried bean lover like me this is a little bit of heaven! I made this during the big freeze this week and ate it for two of the coldest days EVER in my area (Colorado). When it was all gone my 19 yr old was begging me to make it again RIGHT NOW! I always make recipes exactly as written the first time then play with it if I think it could be improved. NO PLAYING this time around! I'm a retired chef and would have proudly served this in my restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Decent flavor. I was trying to make it a little more rounded, so I removed most of the bacon grease, and cooked an onion and the green pepper in with the bacon. Served with corn bread and a salad (would've been greens if the kids would eat them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really enjoyed this! I was'nt sure the beans would get done with only a 30 minute precook and no soaking, but they were tender. I still think next time I will soak overnight. That being said, couldn't come up with the ranch beans, used a can of hot chili beans instead. Put two hot home canned peppers cut in half in with the rest of the mix. Used regular vinegar, out of apple cider kind! And totally forgot the bell pepper( which was ok anyway). Put over white rice with some cheese and scallions, some cornbread, and Mmmmmmmm. Good stuff Danger, thanks! Oh, one more thing, the dried onions.. next time I will use regular onions, I just like onions in with my pinto beans. I did cook this on high for 4 hours, I just couldn't wait to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
So, so good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used cajun sausage instead of kielbasa. My hubby ejoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I skipped the bacon & tomato paste & used turkey sausage. Can't wait to eat leftovers today! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is really great. I have to admit, not exactly what I was expecting, but very tasty! I doubled the recipe. Also I went ahead & soaked the beans overnight then realized I didn't know how much water I'd used. So I had to guestimate on the liquid. I ended up using 1 qt + 1 can of chicken broth (instead of water) plus about 2-3 cups of water. I also forgot about the green onion, but doubt that mattered. Great Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These beans are awesome. I used smoked sausage instead of kielbasa, and fresh jalapenos instead of pickled, and fresh onions instead of dried. Love this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good over rice! Taste sort of like pork and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Serve wrapped in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I followed the recommendations of other users and my own tastes to sub 1 cup diced onion for the dried onion and onion powder, and I used a light kielbasa...as I was short on time I cooked for 2 hours on high and finished for 5 hours on low.... topped with shredded pepper jack and scallions as noted and served over rice.... really a terrific recipe that both my husband and I just loved. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States