Slow Cooker Pierogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was looking for a different recipe to use pierogies in. My husband wAs a little leery as he doesn't eat cabbage often. This was great and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were fantastic!! Thank you Joni!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
As other reviewers have stated, this does not need to go in the slow cooker. Everyone loved this, real comfort food. Will add more cabbage next time and I did add a little chicken broth while cooking the cabbage. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly good! The ingredients sounded interesting so I had to try it but I cut the recipe in half. My husband said maybe I should try more cabbage & bacon next time - so basically I think 2 packages of pierogies & half the butter would work well with leaving the other quantities as written. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
After all the pots and pans used in the preparation I would hesitate to use the slow cooker. This entire dish could be made in a large covered skillet saving cleanup time in the kitchen. This recipe would take no more then an hour this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
@ catrv820 Without a slow cooker, I would cook the bacon first until crisp, drain and set aside. add the butter to about a tablespoon of the bacon drippings and saute the cabbage and onions in that. Cook your Pierogies in boiling water or microwave, according to the package directions and drain. Then just add the rogi's to the pan with the onions and cabbge, crumble the bacon over top, put a lid over the pan and simmer until warmed through. I do this on the stove top often. Add a little chicken broth to help steam/cook the cabbage and onions. I like to get that nice brown carmelized flavor on the cabbage/onion mix and then throw in a bit of chicken stocck/broth to soften and flavor it. If it looks too dry add more chicken broth. If you like,you can also fry up some hot banana pepper strips and add it to the mix, if you want some heat, and/or top with shredded cheddar cheese and warm until melted. A dash of garlic powder might be nice, too. Season with lots of fresh ground pepper This is a recipe that you can really play with and adjust to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
works fine with just cabage, bacon and piroggies. no salt needed. easy. quick. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
To Catrv - you certainly don't need a slow cooker to enjoy this. This is ready to serve after all the ingredients are cooked and combined. The slow cooker is a great way to hold the meal for a potluck for to have ready after a busy afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Ok, there are many picky eaters in this world and I have one that doesn't like much at all. Well I have to say this is a keeper. My son loved it, had two bowls of this and so did my daughter. My boyfriend loved it as well and said I need to make this again soon. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe and I think the crockpot is needed. It blends everything nicely and mixes the flavors evenly. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These are AWESOME!!! A delicious recipe! I agree with the others, no slow cooker is needed, really, but it did allow us to get some stuff done before dinner. I am entertaining the idea of figuring out a way to allow this to cook all day in the slow cooker! All in all, this is delicious and can also be played with a bit to suit ones lifestyle. I understand why Joni says it is hard to not snack on it while it is cooking! Delicious! Thanks Joni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States