Slow Cooker Philly Steak Sandwich Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I think I messed this recipe up by using a sirloin steak instead of a roast. The meat was tough and I could taste the Worcestershire sauce, which I can NOT taste in a philly sandwich. I will try it one more time before I give up on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was fabulous! Didn't change a thing...it came out tender, juicy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Meat was tough and didn't taste like a philly. I was able to salvage it, but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was delicious!!!!! Bought some cheap thin sliced sirloin from Walmart and was looking for something to make it edible and decided on this recipe. The only ingredient I didn't add was marjoram, didn't have any... Threw it all in the crockpot for about 7 hours on low for 1.5 pounds of meat.. Smelled divine and tasted even better!!!!! Covered the rolls with the au jus after assembly and it was an amazing sandwich!!!!!!!! So keeping this in the go to file!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was amazing! I couldn't stop eating it! I made only minor changes. I used a 3 1/2 pound chuck roast so I tripled the recipe. I only used 1/4 teaspoon of thyme, just because I don't care for it much. I used only 1/2 a teaspoon of hot sauce, but I could have gotten away with using it all. I also started out with one can of beer. I added a second about halfway through. We ate it on some bakery buns with Muenster cheesee, onions, peppers and mushrooms. Soooo good. Will be making again. Thanks Duboo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfox12082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved it did not use alcohol still turned out awesome . I used beef broth instead and added peppers last 40 minutes of cooking .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathansmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I joined Allrecipes.com just to rate this awesome recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
the flavors did nothing for me or my family. made it for super bowl sunday and was disappointed at the blend of flavors. certainly didn't taste like any philly cheese steak i have eaten before. i could absolutely taste the whiskey and the beer in the meat. maybe will try this with just beef broth and less of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good. Meat had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States