Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is really easy and delicious--makes great pulled pork for sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've made this 4 times already. I follow the recipe as written and the result is a very flavorful and tender pork that my friends love and request when we have a get together coming up. I'm not a fan of the slow cooker but it works well enough. Having said that... I think this recipe is second best to a traditional puertorican pernil where the main ingredients are tons of garlic, adobo, oregano, white vinegar and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I basically stuck to the recipe, though used cider vinegar and dried oregano. The taste was great but I cooked it too long. I had 2.5 lbs. pork loin and put it in the slow cooker for 6 hours. Didn't realize the cooker wouldn't turn off when it finished but kept it on the warm setting. That being said, it wasn't completely dried out and the sauce added the needed moisture. I think it may have been a little heavy on the salt, but really great alternative to BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I was hesitant to try this recipe because I've never had Pernil before and the spice combo is different, but it was FABULOUS! I kept to the recipe except that I didn't have that kind of pepper so I substituted cayenne pepper and bit of red pepper flakes. Next time I will cut back on the pepper because this had a bit more of a kick than my husband likes but we both agreed, the recipe is great and the pork was unbelievably delicious. And the house smells amazing while it's cooking! This is going to be my new go-to pork recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I did this alittle differntly. I went with one of the other reviews using vinegar adobo salt pepper sazon garlic and a little water. I marinated it over night and when I put it in the slow cooker I also glazed it with sofrito. I used about a 4lb shoulder so I cooked it for 8 hours. It was so juicy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This pork was awesome! I had my parents over for dinner and they were in love with it as well. The only adjustments that I made was to add some margarita mix to the slow cooker, and i just used regular chili powder since I didn't have any of te chili powder the recipe called for. It was devine! Oh, and I also cut slits in the pork and stuff it with some of the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Crazy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great flavour! I would just half the salt next time i make this (or even less). I made pulled pork tacos out of the roast and with the salsa i added to my taco, it was overly salty. Other than that, i didn't let it sit for any amount of hours and the flavour was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujo77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This tasted so strange to my husband and I, we just couldn't eat it. The only thing I changed from the recipe was a dash of soy sauce instead of worchestershire, but that couldn't have been the problem. I guess we just aren't used to this blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Used a pork loin. Did not blend ingredients - just minced the onions instead. Followed the directions except I added some ground coriander and had to use dried oregano. Cooked overnight on low. Moist, fragrant, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Loved the recipe! My husband asked for me to save this one "it's a keeper"! I substituted dried oregano for fresh and used only 1/2 as much; used regular chili powder instead of ancho chile pepper; redwine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar and added a splash of margarita mix. I cooked a 5 lb. pork loin roast so doubled all ingredients. It made it's own wonderful broth. I also ran out of time so cooked on HIGH for 4-5 hours. It was very tender and I served in slices rather than chunks. This was very easy to prepare and my company and family loved it. I placed leftovers in individual containers and froze them for my husband to take in his lunch...he LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States