Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I was afraid to make a Puerto Rican dish being that my husband is Puerto Rican and his mother is by far the best cook in the family. Well, he loved it! He asked me to make his family when they visit. It was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent. It comes out so tender and delicious. I cook it all the time. I usually serve it with corn tortillas and little queso fresca and black beans on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good! My husband and I love this. Because it makes a lot we have 3 meals of this. The first we eat shredded over rice. The second we eat as tacos. The third is Cuban sandwiches! It is my favorite slow cooker dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Great recipe. However, no true Boricua would cook a pernil without the bone and skin left intact to make chicharrone. As a personal preference- I don't cover any of my meats. I simply slow cook this piece of pork (skin side up)in a standard conventional oven at 325 for 1 1/2 hrs every 10 lbs. Marinate with adobo, sofrito, fresh garlic cloves, and sazon at least 8 hrs before cooking. Watch how tender and moist this well seasoned traditional meat will be. The crisp skin will be an added treat to savor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe is sooooo... good. I trimmed the fat from the pork before cooking, and doubled the garlilc (as an earlier reviewer suggested). I made the Cantina Pinto Beans (Allrecipes, also) to go with it. I topped both with fresh cilantro and lots of fresh lime. Really, really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was amazing. We had eaten this dish in a Cuban diner in NYC and wanted to recreate it at home. This recipe was even better than the meal prepared in the commercial kitchen. My guests all agreed that this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
ZERO STARS!!! BIG, BIG disappointment! Just made this last week, I ended the cooking in the oven because the meat was still raw at the end of 4 hrs cooking. After cooking in the oven for two hours, the meat was dry. I am old fashion Latin person and I am used to the old fashion way of roasting pork: At my house ALL meats are quickly rinsed with lemon juice BEFORE preparing to cook (do not leave the juice on too long otherwise the acid in the lemon will start 'cooking' the meat). The skin is first removed with as much fat as possible. The fat side is “crossed-scored” (this helps to bleed the fat off the skin) with a knife and use the rub on both sides of the skin. Place the skin, used to self-baste, fat side down on the meat, as you rotate the meat, keep the skin (fat side down) on top, until the last hour of baking, remove skin, place besides the roast, fat side up. A HOME MADE RUB MADE WITH PLENTY OF GRANULATED AND FRESH GARLIC, LITTLE OREGANO (OTHERWISE THIS OVERPOWERS THE TASTE), SALT, PLENTY OF BLACK PEPPER, PIMENTON (SMOKED PAPRIKA) RUB THE MEAT, CUT MANY HOLES INTO THE MEAT AND ALSO 'STUFF' THE 'HOLES' WITH THE RUB, SLOW BAKE 325° F (FOR AT LEAST 4 HRS) . EDM Ft. Lauderdale FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very tender and tasty but very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have made this recipe twice since finding it in the late fall. This is fantastic. I have tried it with pork chops and the suggested pork roast. Both ways come out perfect. Note: reduce the cooking time slightly for the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States