Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
VERY tasty! There are just two of us at home, so we ate about a quarter of this, and then I froze the rest, and have been using it in various recipes (casseroles, enchiladas, posole, etc.). It has great flavor and comes out SO tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kfarrin
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made this after returning from spring break in Puerto Rico and missing the food (and weather!). This completely brought me back to vacation - it tasted as good (or even better) than some of the food I had in Puerto Rico! I made several modifications to the recipe based on others' reviews. First, I used pork shoulder and marinated it overnight, cutting slits in the meat so the marinade could soak in (I followed the marinade recipe but added extra garlic cloves). I layered the bottom of the slow cooker with sliced onions, put in the marinated pork roast, and topped it with a cup of orange juice and the juice of one lime. After 6 hours, I shredded the meat and removed the bone, and added a TON of adobo seasoning and a good amount of cayenne, as I noticed the spicy raw garlic taste had mellowed a lot during cooking. I let the shredded meat cook another half hour or so, then changed the setting to warm. Served with yellow rice and beans (arroz con habichuelas), and had leftovers on rolls. My family gave it rave reviews (even my dad, a pulled pork connoisseur). I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used pork shoulder and no lime. it came out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Mmmmm...tasty! My family and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have had Cuban style pork before, but never Puerto Rican style. This is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I think next time I'll do the same thing but roast in the oven to help the fat layer on top to crisp. But the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Flavorful but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was so yummy. I'm not big on spicy food yet I loved this because it was so flavorful! I did everything exactly as written and I pulled the pork. We ate it as sandwiches tonight, I was going to make tacos tomorrow but it went so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
more vinegar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I was afraid to make a Puerto Rican dish being that my husband is Puerto Rican and his mother is by far the best cook in the family. Well, he loved it! He asked me to make his family when they visit. It was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent. It comes out so tender and delicious. I cook it all the time. I usually serve it with corn tortillas and little queso fresca and black beans on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States