Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Great recipe. However, no true Boricua would cook a pernil without the bone and skin left intact to make chicharrone. As a personal preference- I don't cover any of my meats. I simply slow cook this piece of pork (skin side up)in a standard conventional oven at 325 for 1 1/2 hrs every 10 lbs. Marinate with adobo, sofrito, fresh garlic cloves, and sazon at least 8 hrs before cooking. Watch how tender and moist this well seasoned traditional meat will be. The crisp skin will be an added treat to savor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Loved the recipe! My husband asked for me to save this one "it's a keeper"! I substituted dried oregano for fresh and used only 1/2 as much; used regular chili powder instead of ancho chile pepper; redwine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar and added a splash of margarita mix. I cooked a 5 lb. pork loin roast so doubled all ingredients. It made it's own wonderful broth. I also ran out of time so cooked on HIGH for 4-5 hours. It was very tender and I served in slices rather than chunks. This was very easy to prepare and my company and family loved it. I placed leftovers in individual containers and froze them for my husband to take in his lunch...he LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
ZERO STARS!!! BIG, BIG disappointment! Just made this last week, I ended the cooking in the oven because the meat was still raw at the end of 4 hrs cooking. After cooking in the oven for two hours, the meat was dry. I am old fashion Latin person and I am used to the old fashion way of roasting pork: At my house ALL meats are quickly rinsed with lemon juice BEFORE preparing to cook (do not leave the juice on too long otherwise the acid in the lemon will start 'cooking' the meat). The skin is first removed with as much fat as possible. The fat side is “crossed-scored” (this helps to bleed the fat off the skin) with a knife and use the rub on both sides of the skin. Place the skin, used to self-baste, fat side down on the meat, as you rotate the meat, keep the skin (fat side down) on top, until the last hour of baking, remove skin, place besides the roast, fat side up. A HOME MADE RUB MADE WITH PLENTY OF GRANULATED AND FRESH GARLIC, LITTLE OREGANO (OTHERWISE THIS OVERPOWERS THE TASTE), SALT, PLENTY OF BLACK PEPPER, PIMENTON (SMOKED PAPRIKA) RUB THE MEAT, CUT MANY HOLES INTO THE MEAT AND ALSO 'STUFF' THE 'HOLES' WITH THE RUB, SLOW BAKE 325° F (FOR AT LEAST 4 HRS) . EDM Ft. Lauderdale FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I did not have fresh oregano and got confused so I used 4 tblsp of the dried (instead of halfing the amount of fresh for dried) and cooked according to directions. It was still really good. What I did was saute onions and garlic in olive oil, add a little mojo and shredded the pork into it and fried it until browned. Served it with Maduros (fried ripe plantains) and rice with lime squeezed on it. I thought I was at a restaruant. Delicious! If you want an authentic tasting spanish meal try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've made this 4 times already. I follow the recipe as written and the result is a very flavorful and tender pork that my friends love and request when we have a get together coming up. I'm not a fan of the slow cooker but it works well enough. Having said that... I think this recipe is second best to a traditional puertorican pernil where the main ingredients are tons of garlic, adobo, oregano, white vinegar and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I did as suggested and added a ton of garlic, adobo, and sazon and it turned out fantastic. This is going to be our New Year's tradition now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I was afraid to make a Puerto Rican dish being that my husband is Puerto Rican and his mother is by far the best cook in the family. Well, he loved it! He asked me to make his family when they visit. It was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was wonderful. I was tired of the same old pork and apple combination. After reading the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I combined all the seasonings together adding Adobo and a cup of water as suggested by another reviewer. I did not have white wine vinegar so I used red wine and garlic vinegar instead. I also followed the recommendation to puree the seasonings and to stuff it into slits cut into the roast. I then cooked it in the slow cooker. Some of our family liked the roast with lime juice and some without. I liked it both ways. The gravy was good on-top of rice. This was easy and everyone loved it. This one goes in the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Made exactly according to the recipe. It was very good and tender. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This turned out great. Being Puerto-Rican myself, I've done the traditional method of cooking the pernil in the oven. I loved the convenience of using the slow-cooker instead, and it turned out just as good. I always cut into the meat and shove some of the garlic/pepper paste into it. Also, I put balled up pieces of foil under the pernil to elevate it a bit. This prevents it from sticking to the bottom and sitting in the grease. It came out very moist and delicious. Once you place the lid on it, leave it! Every time it's opened moisture escapes. I opened it after 6 hours and it was done. Remember pork is fully cooked at an internal temp of 170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States