Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Marvelous recipe! I added a little Moore's marinade and some pork rub that I had in the pantry...cooked in on high in the slow cooker for about 3 hours. Both kids and my husband absolutely loved it! Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Made it for a Puerto Rican party and everyone raved about it! Made it again the following week for my family and it turned out perfectly. This is a tried & true recipe and I would highly recommend it. Will be making it for the next 25 years! I served it with a Puerto Rican bean dish, rice, and a cabbage salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlsteffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good spanish meat! Added cilantro and adobo to meat along with 1 package of Sazon. My husband who is puerto rican ate this up and said it was better as left overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Esto es fantástico! I've been following this recipe for about two years, and I'm happy every time. Today, I'm making it with pork loin chops (bone in) and this past summer I made it with a 13lb pork loin and slow roasted it on a grill. When I started cutting it, I sent someone inside to slice the limes, and by the time he came out there was almost none left. Like I said, it's a hit every time. I recommend serving it with yucca and I would suggest this recipe; http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cuban-style-yucca/detail.aspx Just adjust the cooking time, as 15 minutes is not long enough to cook yucca. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
OH MY GOSH!!!! Can't I rate this higher than 5 stars?!? Just made a batch and I know I could eat it all right our of the bowl. I modified the ingredients a bit to what I had on hand, dried oregano, and reg. chili powder, added 2 jalapenos and some cilantro. It's in the crock pot smelling sooo yummy. I have some Spanish rice in the freezer from another meal & that will go into tortillas with the pork for burritos tonight. I can see this used in a dozen different ways; kabobs, shrimp, chicken... Oh I'm so happy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was delicious! I the only change I made was to use less cumin because I don't like it very much. I used about a 1/2 tsp. Other than that, I made it as written. It was moist and oh-so-flavorful! I served it over arroz con habicuelas rosada (rice with pink beans) and it was an awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I give this 5 stars because my husband has been talking about it for 3 days now. I wanted to try something similar to carnitas, but being that it was stormy, I didn't want to run to the store for the ingredients I didn't have/couldn't substitute. I decreased and subbed dried oregano for the fresh and 1/2 t. of 4 various ground peppers I had on hand for the ancho chile pepper. The house smelled wonderful and the roast fell apart perfectly. It was tender, moist, and flavorful on soft tortillas and alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I had this at a friends house and it was fantastic. She used this for a do-it-yourself taco bar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Good stuff. I threw in onions etc toward the end and cooked it for around 12-18 hrs (had 6lbs of pork and lots of time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
YUM, YUM, YUM!! This recipe is absolutely awesome! My husband and I LOVED this pork! Changes I made: used 1 TBSP dried oregano like many others. Also, I used a tsp of cayenne pepper because I had no ancho chile pepper. The amount of olive oil I used was 1/4 cup, and I used 2 TBSP of vinegar instead of 1. Will definitely make this again! Additional info....I made this a second time and used a sweet vidalia onion, BIG mistake!! Using a yellow (strong) onion is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsto

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States