Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made this past Sunday June 3 DELICIOUS My husband loved loved it. Cooked in crock pot 7 hrs on low. Meat was so tender and juicy-fell apart as I was taking it out of crock. I loved the liquid mixture so much, made another batch to use for leftovers and for chicken during the week as we used much of the original. I also used some of the mixture for potatoes, which I quartered. Just added a bit of flour to the liquid to thicken it up then put it over potatoes also DELICIOUS. Thank you for a great recipe. It's def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debzstuff
Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is very good! Used a 3.7 lb loin roast, bone-in. Don't have a blender, so I just whisked together all the ingredients. The oilve oil part was confusing, so I just used a tsp or thereabouts. Used 2 tsp white vinegar and 1 tsp red wine vinegar. Didn't have ancho powder, so added a little chili powder and cayenne (my man is half Mexican). Used 2 tablespoons of lime juice, since that's what all the sites say to substitute, and 1/3 the amount listed of DRIED oregano. Dumped all ingredients on top of the fat layer and put it into the crock pot bone side down. Cooked in the crock pot on low for about 8-9 hrs. Absolute perfection! I was concerned with so little salt, but it does not need it. Just falls off the bone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJBOULANGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made this several times already, following the recipe almost exactly (substituted regular chili powder for ground ancho chile pepper) and everyone loves it! I slice the pork into chops and shred after cooking. I usually serve this with mashed or roasted potatoes and a green vegetable. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This turned out great. Being Puerto-Rican myself, I've done the traditional method of cooking the pernil in the oven. I loved the convenience of using the slow-cooker instead, and it turned out just as good. I always cut into the meat and shove some of the garlic/pepper paste into it. Also, I put balled up pieces of foil under the pernil to elevate it a bit. This prevents it from sticking to the bottom and sitting in the grease. It came out very moist and delicious. Once you place the lid on it, leave it! Every time it's opened moisture escapes. I opened it after 6 hours and it was done. Remember pork is fully cooked at an internal temp of 170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was absolutely fabulous! The pork was so tender and flavorful--will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Marvelous recipe! I added a little Moore's marinade and some pork rub that I had in the pantry...cooked in on high in the slow cooker for about 3 hours. Both kids and my husband absolutely loved it! Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Made it for a Puerto Rican party and everyone raved about it! Made it again the following week for my family and it turned out perfectly. This is a tried & true recipe and I would highly recommend it. Will be making it for the next 25 years! I served it with a Puerto Rican bean dish, rice, and a cabbage salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlsteffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good spanish meat! Added cilantro and adobo to meat along with 1 package of Sazon. My husband who is puerto rican ate this up and said it was better as left overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Esto es fantástico! I've been following this recipe for about two years, and I'm happy every time. Today, I'm making it with pork loin chops (bone in) and this past summer I made it with a 13lb pork loin and slow roasted it on a grill. When I started cutting it, I sent someone inside to slice the limes, and by the time he came out there was almost none left. Like I said, it's a hit every time. I recommend serving it with yucca and I would suggest this recipe; http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cuban-style-yucca/detail.aspx Just adjust the cooking time, as 15 minutes is not long enough to cook yucca. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
OH MY GOSH!!!! Can't I rate this higher than 5 stars?!? Just made a batch and I know I could eat it all right our of the bowl. I modified the ingredients a bit to what I had on hand, dried oregano, and reg. chili powder, added 2 jalapenos and some cilantro. It's in the crock pot smelling sooo yummy. I have some Spanish rice in the freezer from another meal & that will go into tortillas with the pork for burritos tonight. I can see this used in a dozen different ways; kabobs, shrimp, chicken... Oh I'm so happy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States