Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good, however too much salt for us. I followed the recipe, except used a pork tenderloin (2x) instead. Pulled apart so nice after 5.5 hours on low. Will try again with 1/2 the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Anybody in South Africa tried this recipe with spices found here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Cooked it in the oven at 250 for 5 - 6 hours. SO delicious! All my kids 4 - 13 ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Landis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Yesterday, I defrosted my chest freezer and found a very sad-looking pork shoulder roast at the very bottom. The wrapping was torn and it was a bit freezer-burned. I thawed it out overnight and put it in the crock pot this morning using this recipe. I didn't expect much. It was heavenly. Moist, tender and delicious. I subbed dried oregano for fresh; otherwise, I followed the recipe. My husband and I both loved it, and I'll follow another reviewer's advice: tacos tomorrow night and Cubano sandwiches the next. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll use it again and agai, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
For the stupid person who said they had to finish the pork in the oven because it was still raw after 4 hours....You need to re-read your crockpot manual. The whole point of a crockpot is to NOT take off the lid until after the suggested # hours needed to cook, which for most meat is minimum 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This pork is not Dry!! I throw my roast in the crock pot with the fat side up so it self bastes, I also cut a large apple into quarters and put it in and around the roast and I add a little liquid smoke!!. The meat needs NO extra juice!! SOOO good!! I don't know why anyone would prefer to stick it in the oven and turn it constantly. That's ridicules!!This is so easy!! When I come home, simply shred with two forks picking excess fat and gristle out. I put different sauces on the table and everyone raves!! A whole roast gone in minutes. Serve with toasted Chibata rolls!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bk248
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Did not list amount of olive oil. Really tasty, I did add 2 jalapeños for some heat and extra chile pepper. Cooked in crock pot on low for 6 -7 hours then shredded and placed back in crock pot with marinade. Turned out great everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
absolutely delicious served it with brussel sprouts pan fried with onions and pancetta. Fried Plantains would have complimented everything perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Craig-Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made it exactly as written. It was terrible. Mealy and salty but none of that deep rich flavor you crave in a pernil. Inauthentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was a tad leery of this recipe but it turned out so good! It's now one of my favorite ways to have pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States