Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Outstanding. Made recipe pretty exact with minor changes: I used the pre-cut stir fry beef for ease. I didn't even cook the beef, I just threw it in the crockpot frozen. I also added the peppers and onion the last 2 hours on low. The gravy was still a little runny so I did add an additional 1T of cornstarch the last 30 minutes to thicken. Just like my mom used to make for my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I should confess that I made a few changes. First we had leftover grass fed sirloin steak that we grilled the night before. So I trimmed and sliced it and put it in the crock pot, added grilled sliced onions and covered it in low sodium beef broth (1 1/2 cups) added the ginger, garlic powder, 1 tsp Splenda and low sodium soy sauce and refrigerated it overnight. In the morning I added the tomatoes and cornstarch (1 TBS dissolved in some of the broth) and turned it on low, then about 45 minutes before serving I added the sliced peppers and turned it on high. Served over brown rice with a side dish of steamed broccoli. Totally delicious! I was nervous about using grilled steak but the flavor was amazing and it was fork tender. If you want a thicker sauce add another TBS of cornstarch when you add the bell peppers. No oil, no sugar and low sodium ingredients made this an excellent choice for my hubby who has high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraMN51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andy
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was fantastic. I cut the sodium down by using low sodium soy and it was fabulous. A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So tasty! The meat was tender enough that even my one-year old son was able to enjoy it. Thanks for the tips to put the peppers in at the end. That worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Loved this! So yummy. The only thing I didn't have was stewed tomatoes, so I added diced ones. Will be in my regular rotation from now on. I browned the meat and cut all the veggies up the night before, put them away in the fridge. In the AM I put it all together, along with the liquids before leaving to work. Cooked on slow for 7 hrs. The results? Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was a tasty dish. The beef sirloin was so tender that it almost fell apart. If you like your bell peppers with a little crunch, I recommend adding them about one hour before the end of cook time. I served it over a bed of white rice. I like spicy dishes, so next time I plan to add about one-half sliced jalapeño or a tsp. crushed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
(((Family Favorite))) We used Red Peppers like the picture shows, instead of green that the recipe calls for. It was amazing!! My picky teenager LOVED IT & asked for it again next week. We also used flank steak that we hand sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is fantastic. A family favorite for sure. I've tried cooking it by adding the peppers late so they are a bit firm and throwing them in at the beginning. The flavor is far superior when they are thrown in at the start - they add a lot of flavor and tenderness to the meat. I used STEW MEAT which saves $$. Just trim it against the grain and proceed Absolutely will melt in your mouth. Bon Apetite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Not only did I love it, my entire family loved it! I have five kids, so that's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was good, tasted like something my mom used to make when I was young. Made it just like recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States