Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Great recipe! I had bottom round so I used that, cut instead into 1" strips. I seasoned it with Montreal steak seasinong while browning. Since I was out of soy sauce, I used 2 Tbsp A1 and 2Tbsp worcestershire sauce instead. I also used double the amount of peppers, a combo of red, green and yellow. I would suggest waiting to add the peppers until you have only 1 1/2-2 hours of cooking time left. That's what I did and they bordered on being overcooked. I can only imagine the peppers completely breaking down if you add them at the beginning. This was fantastic and my family absolutely LOVED it--22 month old, 14 year old and husband devoured it, speaking their praise in grunts of satisfaction. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyLaing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This dish had more liquid than I'd anticipated, so it was more like a stew. I was glad I followed the advice of other reviewers and added the peppers during the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
the flavor of the dish was fantastic but like others, it had the 'slow cooker' taste. In addition, I think my slow cooker cooks hot because everything was mushy even though I put peppers, etc. in later. I will DEFINITELY make it again but will try simmering it on the stovetop instead of the slow cooker. Thank you for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Fantastic dinner! I will be adding tons of more veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Yummy - didn't use the bullion but added fresh garlic, oregano and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Very good...the only thing I added was mushrooms. I just wish the sauce was a little thicker to cling better to the egg noodles so to serve and sprinkled a little Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Great dish with a lot of flavor. I was excited to try a new recipe and started off making it exactly as written (except I wasn't using a slow cooker). After tasting it before it was done I found that it tasted almost exactly like a Filipino dish that I've never tried to make. Even my husband said it tasted like it. So I chopped up some potatoes, added some peppercorn and a couple bay leaves...yup, it's a Filipino style stew now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Honestly, I was NOT expecting to love this as much as I do. I *like* peppers but don't *love* them, but in this recipe all the flavors are amazing! Very easy to put together, which is nice on busy days. Just threw it all in the slow cooker, stirred a few times and it was done. My husband mixed his with egg noodles but I had mine just by itself, it was sort of like a stew. I'll definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This was pretty good. I only had red pepper, so that is what I used. Like others mentioned, added the pepper toward the end of cooking. More of like a swiss steak to me, than a pepper steak, but it tasted good and my family all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I made as directed and thought this was great and I don't care for pepper steak! My hubby likes it so that's why I tried it. Glad I did and will keep this in my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States