Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicous!!! My husband loved it!!!! I did as some others suggested and bought the pre-sliced beef stir fry strips to make it a little quicker. The ony other thing I did was sliced my green peppers into strips instead of chopping them. I would definitely recommend adding the peppers when the dish is almost done though because they get really mushy and if you like crisper peppers I would add them last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1566 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Don't be fooled by the name. This is not a traditionally prepared Chinese Pepper Steak but it is very good nonetheless. In addition to seasoning the beef with garlic powder, I added red pepper flakes and fresh minced garlic to the crock pot. Also, I suggest adding the green pepper during the last couple of hours of cooking so that they maintain a crispy texture (I added mine at the beginning and they were very mushy). Finally, I added a tablespoon or so of cornstarch (mixed with cool water) just before serving. This created a wonderful gravy that was perfect over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
983 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe was DELICIOUS and sooooo easy to make! My grocery store had pre-sliced "Beef For Stir-Fry" on sale, so I substituted that for the sirloin and it turned out fantastic (it also saved alot of time and effort not having to slice the meat myself)! I followed the recipe exactly and it was done after about 6 hours on low... the meat was super tender and almost falling apart! The sauce was a little bit thinner than I like, so I took another tablespoon of cornstarch and mixed it in a small bowl with a little bit of the sauce, then dumped it back into the crockpot and mixed it up real well. Then I let it cook on low for another 30 minutes and this thickened the sauce up perfectly! I served it over steamed white rice and then served the leftovers the next day with mashed potatoes -- both were YUMMY! My husband and I really loved this recipe and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was easy and delicious! Will definitely be a keeper in my recipe box. I added a couple cloves of chopped garlic and a few dashes or Worcestershire sauce. Like all the other reviews, the peppers were soft, but I love them that way. For crisper peppers, add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI8878

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Great recipe. Good change from your typical crock pot recipe with cream of anything soup. Definitely put the peppers in at the end. I will double the sauce next time. The only change I made was I did not add salt. 7/7/08-This is so wonderful I did triple the sauce this time-3 cans of tomatoes and triple bouillon/water mixture. I decreased the soy sauce to 7 TBSP. I did not add any salt. You need to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is very similiar to a recipe I have been making for years that my kids affectionately call Mommy Slop. As in "what's for dinner? Mommy Slop!" I don't use cornstarch, and use brown sugar instead of white, also I add more onion, soy sauce and worstershire sauce. Then I cook and add the seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Absolutely delicious! My husband and I along with our 5 year old and 17 month old LOVED it. Very tasty over egg noodles and also rice! Will definitely make it again. But my advice is: 1) Use fresh garlic instead of powder and 2) Don't put green peppers in until the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
i made this last yesterday and served it on garlic mashed potatoes just to try something different and it was delicious...the pepper steak was a bit too salty for me so I think next time I will only use two tbsp of soy sauce or ommit the teaspon of salt, other than that I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chilipepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is part of my regular fall/winter rotation. I find it is best to put the peppers in during the last hour of cooking, so they aren't dissintegrated. Also, I find that I need additional cornstarch at the end (when I add the peppers) to make the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
One of the best recipes from this site that we have tried. Hubby, kids and granddaughter absolutely love it! I followed the recipe pretty close, only making a few minor changes to use what was on hand. I used probably closer to 2 1/2 pounds of sirloin completely trimmed of any fat, a whole large vidalia onion, 4 bell peppers (1 each green, red, orange and yellow) and low sodium soy sauce. I also did not add the peppers in the beginning with the the other ingredients. I waited until approx. 2 hours before serving. They were very tender but not mushy. Served over Jasime rice. The meat is so tender it just melts in your mouth and the flavor is excellent. Simple, hearty, comfort food. This will be added to our "favorites file". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States