Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
It was OKAY overall. It was nothing like how I expected it. Very tomatoey tasting which I wasn't too pleased about. IF I made this dish again I'd leave out the salt altogether (it was EXTREMELY SALTY!), and as other members said I would add the peppers and onions much later in the cooking process to keep them a little crisper. I added a couple cloves of garlic to the stew as well. This particular recipe was not a hit with my family. It could use some fixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hertzen
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is a great dish, I remember from childhood. I would skip the soy sauce and salt though. The bouillon was plenty salty tasting. Used fresh minced garlic in place of garlic powder. Used red and yellow peppers, cause that's what I had. I added brown mushrooms. I subbed red wine for the 1/4 cup of water. The mushrooms and the wine added a real rich flavor. The meat was so tender. I cooked it for 8 hours on low, but 7 hours on low would have been plenty fine. Served over a garlic linguine pasta with a side of steamed asparagus. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very good! The only thing I didn't like was the sauce was really watery but that was my fault because I didn't have corn starch to thicken it other than that it was yummy! I made it with rice and poured it over the rice. I added some Worcestershire sauce about a tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Easy, delicious, and satisfying, with big flavor. I did all of the chopping the night before to cut down on the AM prep work, so when I got up, I had everything in the slow cooker in maybe 10 minutes. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The meat was delicious and literally fell apart. The picture showed red bell peppers so I used one red and one green. The tomatoes seemed a little out of place. I'd make it again but use more peppers and skip the tomatoes. As other reviewers mentioned, I might add the peppers later. I like soft peppers but not quite that soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We made it without the cornstarch, but it was very dry. We used good meat so not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This type of beef does not to be cook for hours it just take few minutes I followed the instruction and it turnout beef shrunk and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
It was just ok with me. The peppers were strong and there was a lot of extra broth. I'd rather make a steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Excellent. Used a can of Beef Consomme instead of boullion with 1/4 cup water. Used red and green peppers. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Excellent! I topped a baked potato with the sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States