Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So good. Very tasty and the meat was tender. Had a lil spice to it. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Good. Strong beef flavor with Better than Bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made it exactly as written, and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is fantastic. I read other reviews, made more sauce and added the peppers at the end. I'll double the batch next time. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I cooked this dish on high for 3 hours and then low for 2 hours (added the bell peppers for the last two hours of cooking to avoid soggy peppers). The beef was a little tough, but the next day it was very soft and tender. The peppers and tomatoes tasted fine with the beef. This recipe is more of a basic beef stew (more like a basic beef soup with unnecessary soy sauce in it, which cannot be tasted at all in this dish). It does not smell bad as noted by other reviewers, and is edible. This dish overall tastes OK, but is not great--on the bland side and in need of more ingredients. Hence, I'm only rating this 2 stars for a stew/soup type of recipe. For the outcome of this recipe being very soupy and bland in taste, you would have time better spent making a different actual beef stew type of recipe. For the reviewers looking for a pepper steak type of recipe you would find at a Chinese restaurant, don't try slow cooking it! Stir fry your ingredients using fresh garlic and ginger, scallions/onions, soy sauce, and maybe even some dry sherry. If you want to add in tomatoes, cut up a few fresh to add to your stir fry along with a little bit of sugar. Don't forget the black pepper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Delicious and easy! I left out the salt though and it was wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was ok, made it exactly how it said to make it. We ate it but wasn't thrilled about it at all. Probably won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The flavor was decent (replaced garlic powder with chopped garlic, the bouillon cube/hot water with beef stock and omitted the extra salt as per several posters' suggestions) but not outstanding. The meat was tender but the peppers were soggy, as expected, despite my adding them to the top, away from the liquid, and cutting them thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I cooked it as directed except that I didn't brown the meat before putting it in the crock. Next time I will used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, it was a little too sweet. I thought it was good but my family just thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
One of my families favorites for years now. Amazingly we use it more as a mexican dish. Like a steak ranchero meal with a bit less bell pepper and layer it in a tortilla with Spanish rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States