Slow Cooker Pepper Steak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is a great recipe, although I changed a few things. I left out the salt, doubled the garlic, added a tablespoon of ginger, added 1/4 cup red wine, added 1/4 cup of honey, and threw in some carrots and broccoli. It turned out GREAT. I think adding the cooking wine and honey gave it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
ok so i havent eaten it yet but i have picked at it and its DELICIOUS! i followed the recipe and my meat was VERY tender within 2 1/2 hours. and that was with my crock pot set to 8 hours on low. so i dont know why the recipe says 6 to 8 hours. so i will be leaving it on warm until dinner time as it is only 2:50 pm.but its a keeper and i would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Freeland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe has become a part of my slow cooker repertoire. I found this recipe about a year ago and it has become one of our favorites. So easy and so good - my husband is a "meat and potatoes" man, so he loves this pepper steak teamed with mashed potatoes and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Maybe it's me. The reviews sounded great. My family found this bland. Every recipe sounds good, but all these slow cooker recipes seem bland in the end. They smell great while cooking + when you walk in the door. Rival new oval cooker. Pork, ham, beef chicken all taste simular + everything falls apart. Is this normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used stewing beef, added worchestersire sauce, a bit of ginger, and some hot pepper sauce as we like our food spicy. It turned out great! I will definitely make again but I will likely use a little less soy sauce as it was a bit salty - even with the low sodium sauce and omitting the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This is such a nice meal, I also add a bag of birds eye baby brocoli, cauliflower and endeme mix the last hour or two and I double the sauce atleast. Serve over brown rice, have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
MADE THIS TONIGHT STOVETOP...TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Tasty. Did not add extra salt, did add a good red wine and a few tblsp of balsalmic vinegar as well as some extra water before adding to initial meat mixture. I made sure to taste the sauce before adding to the meat mixture. The only reason for the 4 star rating is because of the changes made.Also added broccoli and carrots. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
this was sooo good!!! usually i'm not a good cook but my husband absolutely loved this. i think i'm going to make it at least once a week now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a great and simple meal. Tender, juicy, tasty. Now a regular meal for my table. Not sure how the bad reviewers screwed up this meal. (overly salty being the exception) If you don't usually salt your meals, definately leave out the extra salt. But as a salt-a-holic myself, it was just salty enough. Don't over cook the meat in the browning process and you'll do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States