Slow Cooker Pepper Steak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is a great recipe, although I changed a few things. I left out the salt, doubled the garlic, added a tablespoon of ginger, added 1/4 cup red wine, added 1/4 cup of honey, and threw in some carrots and broccoli. It turned out GREAT. I think adding the cooking wine and honey gave it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Pepper steak has been a favorite in my family for 2 generations. I found this and it is so similar to my recipe but gave the extra flavor we have been looking for. FANTASTIC. Except I agree, too much salt. Next time I will leave the salt out and it will be better than perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was good, but salty even though I cut the soy to 1/4 cup, and added a cup of beef broth (no water). I too used tri color peppers and sliced onion it was a very "pretty" dish. Thanks CBCBROWN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I pretty much went with the changes Linda Mclean made. I used light soy sauce and reduced the amount, left out the sugar and salt, added in garlic powder and worcester sauce. I used red and green peppers and made the cornflour mix with beef broth. The result was wonderful. Thanks Linda for the tips and thanks cbcbrown for the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
this was sooo good!!! usually i'm not a good cook but my husband absolutely loved this. i think i'm going to make it at least once a week now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Perfect dinner for the whole family. I did add more LIGHT soy sauce and more water. No salt! Served mine over stir fried veggies, mostly broccoli, and served kids' over rice. Think next time I'll serve over chow mein noodles. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used stewing beef, added worchestersire sauce, a bit of ginger, and some hot pepper sauce as we like our food spicy. It turned out great! I will definitely make again but I will likely use a little less soy sauce as it was a bit salty - even with the low sodium sauce and omitting the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Delicious and not very complicated to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Very good meal. Lots of flavor. Meat was just a little dry, should have only cooked it for 6 hours on low. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I wasn't that crazy about this recipe. The flavor seemed to be lacking to me and it was a bit too salty for my taste. I even used low sodium soy sauce. I will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States