Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great ideas! Looking for a way to use up 2 chicken thighs I had. Didn't have the cream cheese. Reduced the recipe for the amount of chicken and used cream of chicken soup in place of the cream cheese. Came out great. The base recipe is a bit bland, but that just leaves room to flavor it as you choose. I choose plain old salt and pepper. May think about putting in potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenDerFleur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Good but a bit bland. This is a definite repeat with a few more changes. Made this Sunday for the family using the high setting so it was ready in 4 hours. I omitted the mushrooms and peas at the request of the boys and doubled the carrots. Next time I will use crinkle carrots because the chicken cooked down so much that it was almost shredded and the larger baby carrots didn't look right. I also used frozen chopped onions instead of fresh. I was surprised at the thickening quality of the cream cheese spread, but it didn't add enough flavor compared to how the cheese tasted alone. Next time, I am going to add Johnny's garlic seasoning blend to up the taste and maybe Alouette Cheese spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen Mahoney
Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very good. I made some pasta shells with it and served it over the pasta. I also added in some zucchini instead of peas and it was very good. Top with some crispy fried onions and it's quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Ives

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight and switched the cooking creme flavours. A bit watery but I thickened it a bit with flour. Overall tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I found this to be a little watery rather than as creamy as I thought it would turn out to be. It tasted okay, and was simple to make, but I would have preferred it to be creamier. Maybe by using a chicken cream of soup instead of chicken broth. The cream of cheese didn't mix very well either. I checked my amount of ingredients, and I did everything as listed. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Pretty good, I loved the chicken but not so much the sauce. I think next time ill add chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a winner. I made this for 4 adults and the entire meal was gone by the end of the evening. Serving the stew over rice worked very well. Tip: You may need to add some water to ensure that everything is mostly covered in the slow cooker. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I made this last week as part of a lower-carb, gluten-free whole foods diet for myself, my boyfriend and his teenage son. HUGE hit!! Reminded us so much of pot pie filling that I have it going in the slow cooker now and have made an awesome pie crust from whole oat and millet flours. Can't wait. I'm drooling just thinking about it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whimkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is delicious just as is. I did sautee everything first for added flavor. When finished I adjusted the seasoning to taste with just with a little salt and pepper. I love that it's not like every other stew. For one thing, there are no potatoes! Hubby loved it and I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was so easy to make and everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States