Slow Cooker Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
The food was delicious! However, because I am not an exprienced cook, it took me more than an hour to cut and prepare all of the ingredients, before putting everything in the crock pot; so this was not a dish that can be prepared in a short period of time, although it is cooked in the crock pot. If you are looking for something fast to prepare, this is not a dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Not so sure why this is being related to Osso Buco, but it sure tasted great! Followed the recipe exactly except used a veal chuck roast. Served with orzo. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made it without the Osso Buco cuts and it was good. I imagine with the right meat it would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
i tried this and the veal had no flavor. I ended up having to re-saute the beef and place the contents of the slow cooker into a dutch oven and prepare it that way. It all worked out, but the steps i tried to avoid by slow cooking i ended up having to do anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
The vegetable sauce was good but over powered the flavor of the meat. It was pretty much tasteless. I'll try it again but add some additional spices when browning the veal; maybe some tarragon and reduce the amount of onion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
A good recipe, but it needs more: a tablespoon of kosher salt and 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper is a start (in a slow cooker--in a Dutch oven cut the salt and pepper in half), and osso bucco is made with grated lemon peel; it's not osso bucco without it. Add two teaspoons freshly grated lemon peel in a slow cooker, or one teaspoon in a Dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is one of our go-to favorites! We LOVE this! My kids (ages 3 1/2 and 1 1/2) inhale it and always ask for more. I set my rice cooker with arborio rice to make a 'cheat' risotto and serve this over the risotto. I often have trouble finding veal shank so I will get lamb shank instead. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
OMG This was sooo great! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic. We're huge osso buco fans, and this is the most effortless method by far. The veal was beyond tender and perfectly seasoned without overpowering the veal. Don't forget to serve with gremolata: 2 Tbsp FRESH parsley, 1 Tbsp fresh grated lemon peel, 1 clove finely minced garlic. A side of polenta and a big glass of Sangiovese won't hurt either:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States