Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This was really good. I added a bag of frozen stir-fry peppers and onion (I microwaved them for a couple of minutes first) and a teaspoon of ground ginger. After five hours on low I turned it up to high, stirred in about 2 Tbsp dissolved corn starch (I like thick sauce) and a tin of mandarine orange segments. By the time the rice was done, the sauce was nicely thickened. It tasted very soy-saucy to me, but was still very good and my husband really liked it, which is a big plus (he's picky). Super easy, I'll be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was looking for a slow cooker orange chicken so decided to give this one a try inspite of the bad reviews. I made quite a few changes and it turned out wonderful (which is why the 4 stars). this is what I did: 1st, I seasoned the chicken with s&p, garlic powder and dusted in flour then deep fried till golden brown. Then I put drained chicken in crockpot with other ingred + 2 heaping Tablespoons of orangejuice concentrate and 1/2 cup of honey. When the meal was finished I placed the chicken under the broiler until a bit crispy then dusted in toasted sesame seeds. It turned out delish this way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was absolutely terrible, and there was nothing in it that I didn't like. I followed it exactly to instructions. If you like boiled chicken (which I don't) this is for you. If you do try it, I recommend browning the chicken before putting it in the crock pot. Maybe that will help. Blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Gun Barrel City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this and added a few touches, a tbs of ginger, and a tbs of pepper and a tbs of garlic. 2 fresh chopped small onions and some green onions as well. It was good and I will make it again. I'm going to try using OJ next time instead of the orange soda. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was great, my family loved this chicken! The only change that I made was that I cooked it on high for 3 to 4 hours. I will make this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I would never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
If you like the combination of sweet and salty, you'll like this recipe. My husband and kids were able to eat it but they'd rather I not make it again. The sweet and salty don't mix well with us, but it was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Love the taste! I used diet orange soda for a healthier version. I also sprinkled a bit of ginger on the chicken. Hubby and I both enjoyed this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I wouldn't make this again. The orange soda and soy sauce made for a rather "interesting" mix. Neither of us could eat more than one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was easy to make, but I wouldn't recommend it. Tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States