Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I added fresh cranberries & pecans. Used milk instead of water and a little more cinnamon. I cooked it a bit longer than it says because I just happened to sleep in and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Its a no to make again from my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Good but needs improvement. At 5 hours on low mine was done. Would add raisins last because they were plumped up like grapes and added that taste to the oatmeal. I'm a cinnamon lover, but think the cinnamon could be decreased as well. I would also add more apples or add later in cooking, they were totally cooked down into the oatmeal and couldn't see them. Worth trying again and playing with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I greased my slow cooker pot and this stuck something aweful to it. I soaked and scrubbed it for so long, it was not worth it! The cinnamon cooked for that long gave a strange flavor. It's better to make this on the stove in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this a couple of weeks ago and we thought it was very good. I just finished putting it in the crockpot tonight. This time I put in more apple (2 small galas), more raisens (1/2 cup) and another tablespoon of sugar. We will see how this turns out. It was delicious the first time, but we customized it to our own taste this time. I can't wait to experiment with different fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Even my teenagers love it and normally they only like oatmeal in cookies. The only change that I made is that I don't put the raisins in until after it's done. I don't like raisins cooked so much. So when my husband gets up, he turns it off and then when I go to reheat a bit in microwave, I toss in a few raisins. This is just my preference. Kids liked the raisins cooked. I make a huge pot and it provides breakfast for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was pretty easy, healthy, and it was nice to wake up to a nice warm breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this recipe this afternoon so I could see how it behaves. It took exactly 6 hours for a nice, creamy consistency. It's 8 pm and I can't stop 'tasting' it. I used half water and half unsweetened apple juice, and one large apple coarsely chopped. It tastes great and I'm looking forward to breakfast being ready for the week. I might use a bit less cinnamon next time. Thanks for the yummy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My husband and I loved having this ready in the morning when we woke up! I had read about putting the ingredients in a heat safe bowl and then surround the bowl (about 1/2 way to the top of the bowl) with water in the crockpot. Cooked perfectly! I only put the apples and cinnamon in at the beginning and then I added raisins, a dab of maple syrup, a little bit of milk when I was ready to eat and it was perfect to me. Of course this can be adjusted in so many ways to suit individual tastes. Thanks for the original recipe and thanks for all the helpful suggestions that have been posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Thank you, brandysue, for this recipe. Oatmeal is so good for you and the steel cut oats are even better, but I don't usually make them because they take way too long to cook on the stove and I don't have time for that when I have to get off to work in the morning. But, this is a great alternative because I can make a batch that lasts throughout the week where the last serving tastes as good as the first. This recipe is like having dessert for breakfast, but there's no guilt involved. Cooking the steel-cut oats in the slow cooker overnight is a wonderful idea. I think the recipe works well just as it is, but I did tweak it because I didn't have raisins and I've always preferred milk over water in my oatmeal. I added dried cranberries, flax seed and an additional 2T brown sugar. I don't think the tablespoon of cinnamon is overpowering at all. Cinnamon is so very good for you (lowers LDL and stabilizes blood sugar) that the more the better, IMHO. The only issue I had was that it stuck big time to my crock pot. I think the pot runs hot, so I will adjust the setting from 'low' to 'warm' next time and spray some Pam on the sides to see if that eliminates the problem. I had also put just a tad of honey in the mix which probably contributed to the sticking, as well. I love a recipe that not only tastes good, but is easy to make AND has the benefit of actually being good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States