Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Ok, we didn't like this at all. Hubby couldn't eat it (he's never had steel cut oats before) he did not care for the gummy texture. I just personally like a more spiced apple taste and I didn't even think of that when making this. This was just very bland and the apple taste was a little weird. I might make this again but I'll add nutmeg or allspice and I'm curious to see if cooking for less then 7 hours will help with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this last night for breakfast this morning. As I sit here eating this, I think it's a good recipe, but I made a change which I regret. I followed the recipe exactly as far as proportions, but instead of water I added half water, half almond milk. I dislike the taste of almond milk, and I hate wasting food, so I was trying to find a use for the almond milk. Another reviewer used almond milk, so I tried it. I can still taste the almond milk. I was hoping the apple, raisins, and cinnamon would mask it. They did, but not enough. I will make this again, but I will use only water. I still gave the recipe five stars because of the ease of the preparation, the texture when finished, and if I subtract the taste of the almond milk, I like it. Steel cut oats are a pain to make on the stove top, so slow cooking them with fresh ingredients is fantastic! The house smelled wonderful as the oats cooked, and like I said, I will make this again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So good and easy! Might spray my slow cooker first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gboulka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Warning!: ORIGINAL RECIPE IS SUPER BLAND. Nowhere near enough brown sugar. Think more like 1/3 cup for this much oatmeal. While you're at it, go ahead and reduce the cinnamon to maybe 1.5 tsp. and use a 50/50 mix of water and milk to cook, or use all apple juice (it gives great flavor, especially when making apple pie oatmeal). If you wake up to a too hot, too mushy and stiff oatmeal, just add in some cold milk and it will break up the texture while, at the same time, cooling it down. One last nugget of slow cooker oatmeal truth: It may just be my slow cooker, but I feel like the apples in this were overcooked and the sides of my oatmeal were a tad burnt when I left it in at 5.5 hours. If you have this issue, I'd suggest cooking on low for 3 hours and leaving on warm all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I decreased the Cinnamon to 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp. I cook it 3 hours on low in my crockpot and then turn it off and let it cool in the pot, that way it does not stick to the sides. I love this recipe and now keep a batch in my fridge ready to warm up for B-fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This came out great, although each serving needed a pinch of salt. I wonder if some people are using QUICK COOKING steel cut oats, and that's why it was mushy for them. It took less time than the recipe. It got thicker as it sat in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My kids and I love this oatmeal. Using steel cut oats instead of rolled oats is vital, as is greasing the crock pot vessel. We like ours with a teaspoon of nutmeg and a dash of salt added, but the original recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe was tasty, but the "cook on warm if your crockpot cooks too high" advice didn't work so well for my crock pot. After 7 hours on warm, they weren't really done, so I put them on low for two more hours. I think in the future I might try low on a few hours before bed, and then switch to warm overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My husband doesn't like homemade oatmeal, and he really liked this! I made a few adjustments as follows: 2 cups almond milk and 1 cup water, 1 cup steel oats, 1 chopped up gala apple (all I had), only 1 TBSP of cinnamon (PLENTY), doubled the brown sugar to 4 TBSP, 1 tsp vanilla, and the 2 TBSP of butter. I set it to warm before I went to bed around midnight, and it was creamy and delicious around 8:00 this morning. I added a few pecans, dried cranberries, and a packet of Sugar in the Raw to my bowl. The Sugar in the Raw is a coarser, natural sugar that is light golden brown in color, but I think is not brown sugar. It really makes a difference in a good way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I think people don't understand that this is a recipe that depends on YOUR crockpot being just like hers. That is, doesn't overcook or undercook! And you can ADD more sugar after it's cooked, it's meant for more than one meal or more than one person so microwaving one bowl isn't the same!! I also like butter & a sprinkle of sugar on the top of HOT cereal so to each his or her own, wouldn't you say? No, I don't put butter on Cheerios but it's like comparing apples to oranges. The recipe is great as is but go ahead & make changes to suit yourself!! Don't accuse her of a "faulty" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States