Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was good the second time I made it. I really recommend cutting the cinnamon to a teaspoon and adding a bit of salt. The first time I made it, I substituted Apple cider for ALL of the water. Big mistake--too much Apple flavor. Someone suggested milk instead of water so I will try that next time. Cranberries are a nice substitute for raisins. They could be added after cooking, as could the apples to add different textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it!!!! Never tried steel cut oats before-very impressed!! did as a reviewer mentioned...used 1C milk as a sub for one of the cups of water. May even do more next time. It was delicious. We put it on low for what we hoped would be 8 hours overnight. However our daughter decided to sleep in so they were in for over 9 hours! Still great! can't wait to make it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My wife loves this and has made it for her breakfasts for the last 3 weeks. She made it exactly as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe! I doubled the recipe to freeze. It may seem like a lot of cinnamon but it doesn't taste that way. Love waking up to hot breakfast ready. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Love Love Love this! I made it this morning and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ritchie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is great way to cook Steel Cut Oats NOT regular oats without a lot of effort. I love that you can customise it to your taste and what works for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I thought this was great, but my husband didn't like it. I omitted the brown sugar and raisins, and used 2 c. water and 1 1/2 c. milk. Also used a slow cooker liner as others had suggested, which was a godsend! Cooked on low for 8 hours overnight. I added toasted pecans and plain greek yogurt to mine-YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe for my gang. It was oat soup. Way too much liquid for only 2 cups of oats. I cooked a pot of oats on the stove and added it in, then it was edible; had to add sugar and I'd cut back a bit on the cinnamon if I ever tried this again. Was hoping for a good Christmas Eve no fuss breakfast, so much for that idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is fantastic and a mix it up from time to time adding half milk changing out some of the water or use other dried fruit...this is fantastic recipe and make sure you use STEEL CUT OATS!!! If not it will be mush....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is fantastic! Add more liquid though, I use the same amount as I would if I made it stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States