Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I put the ingredients in a lightly sprayed pyrex bowl on a trivet in the cooker. This stops the oatmeal sticking. It never fails for me and I have been using my cooker for years to make oatmeal this way. I don't add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
It was lovely to wake up to hot oatmeal, but given my adaptations, I don't *need* to make this again, but might. I was using steel cut oats (granular in appearance / not rolled flakes) so I used the box ratio of 4c water to 1c oats. Plugged in at midnight. Awoke 7:00 a.m. to hot, creamy oatmeal. Required a stir to get rid of foamy layer, but not much loss in "cling-ons." *Note to self, use a crock pot liner for zero loss.* I stirred in salt and fat free 1/2 1/2, served a bowl with lite butter and Brown Sugar Splenda. VERY creamy, but a tad gluey. The chewy nutty texture from steel cut oats was lost; more akin to what microwave instant oatmeal is like. I ate a bowl, buttered a loaf pan and poured the rest into the loaf pan and chilled, wrapped. Next several mornings, I sliced a piece of "loaf" into a shallow dish w/ butter/sugar, and into the microwave it went for 1-2 minutes. Hot bubbling oatmeal followed, topped with a bit more 1/2 and 1/2, which was delicious. It stayed fresh for days and days that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I boiled the water added the dry steel cut oats and covered with lid.Wait 4 minutes then I turned off the stove and went to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready to be quickly heated (add the cream and sugar at that time) this is easy for those who don't have a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Tasted great, but I had to play with the ingredients a bit.. I found that 4 c of water for 1 c of oats was perfect. With 3 c water, the oatmeal had dried up by morning, and with 5 c it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think that the wide variety of results on this recipe can be chalked up to crock-pot differences. To avoid a cooked on mess, your crock-pot needs to be 2/3-3/4 full when you turn it on. The recipe as written would fail miserably in a 6 qt cooker. Also, due to the long cooking time, use 20-25% more liquid than the oat container calls for. I wouldn't use instant oatmeal here. Try Old-Fashioned or Steel-Cut oats. I have a 6 qt crock pot and I used: 2 cups old-fashioned oats 1 cup steel cut oats 8 cups water 3 cups milk 4 Tbsp butter 1/2 cup brown sugar (should have used more) I cooked on low for 8 hours and stirred. The result was creamy and delicious and there was just a little stuck in the corners. This made a lot, but for the rest of the week I'll just portion it out and add a little milk before re-heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
i read the reviews before i made this, and decided to add 2 tablespoons of butter to keep it from sticking to the crock. it either worked, or my slow cooker is not suceptible to sticking. i cooked it on low overnight, 9 hours, and it was fantastic. i made it again the next night with chopped apple added before cooking. if you do this, make sure to reduce the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's my secret to this recipe: Use a small dip size crockpot (about one quart), and keep on "warm" setting overnight - I was lucky enough to find a crockpot that small with that setting - it works just great; no sticky, overcooked oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I'll never make oatmeal the "regular" way again! Don't worry about it sticking to the sides a little, just stir it well first thing in the morning, then add your mix-ins (raisins are excellent) and let it sit for a half hour or so, it's great. Wonderful left over. I don't use the cream, just add milk to taste (doesn't take much!) to individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I loved this recipe. With my crazy morning schedule, I was so glad to have breakfast finished & not have to worry about cooking. Soooo easy & can flavor it any way you would like. It was definately very creamy. I thought the leftovers were even better. Soo yummy with splenda, low cal maple syrup & bananas &/or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States