Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Great taste and super creamy. The basics of this recipe are good but the execution needed lots of adjustment based on your individual crock pot. I used 1 c. steel cut oats, 4 cups water, 1 c. cream. Sprayed my crock pot with Pam and poured the 3 ingredients in, gave it a stir, set it on low, and let it cook for 4 hours. I checked it at 4 hours and to my surprise, it was done. Thick and creamy. A little stuck to the sides but not too much. I turned off the pot and let it sit over night. Super thick and creamy and all that was stuck on the sides had come off. Just added some milk and put in the microwave for a minute then add your toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This came out horrible! It was watery, lumpy and a hard thick layer of oats were stuck all around the edge of the slow cooker...Will not be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I think the problem is with the individual slow cookers! Mine only has slow cook/warm settings. It wasn't clear in the recipe what type of oats, but I used old fashioned oats. This is what I did to address the burning/mushy problems: I sprayed the slow cooker with Pam, added 1T. I Can't Believe It's Not Butter to mixture and cooked on warm for 10 hrs. I also adjusted recipe by adding cinnamon to taste and a capful of vanilla extract but also mixed fat free half-and-half and brown sugar in the night before to cook all together overnight. The only thing I added in the am was 2 sliced over ripe bananas. It was so creamy and it was a great bananas and cream oatmeal!! DELICIOUS!!!!! I'm cooking another batch now for my morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I liked this but have made a few additions of my own. Add tapioca, it smooths out the pastiness of oatmeal. Instead of cream I used water and added powdered milk. It is great with added peaches or apples and a touch of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Stove top version: Bring water to a boil add the "dry steel cut oats" (We love those). Boil for 4 minutes, stir, cover with lid, turn off the stove, leave on the burner, and go to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready & can be stove or mic heated. (add cream & sugar at this time) this is easier then a crock pot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Bloom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Spray cooker with cooking spray before putting ingredients in and no problem. Can add any dried or fresh fruits to it. I like raisins added just before serving but some like them soft.Experiment with spices too or add canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I tried this twice in the slow cooker and just couldn't get it to work. It was still soupy the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Turned it on at midnight, turned it off around 7:00. Opened lid to watery-lumpy yucky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this in a little bitty 2 quart crock pot and upped the recipe a bit so that the crock pot would be a little over half full because the crock pot instructions say not to cook less than half a crock of food. I could imagine having problems making this recipe in a normal sized crock pot without scaling it up substantially! As it was, my oatmeal was done after 3 hours even though I cooked it on low. So it was a flop as far as that goes, but the result... The oatmeal was so creamy and delicious, even though I used milk instead of half and half and cinnamon sugar instead of brown! It was honestly the first bowl of oatmeal that I've truly enjoyed. The leftovers reheat well too. I'm going to try making it with ice cubes instead of water to see if that will slow down the cooking process enough that it will actually take the entire night to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was really easy! You HAVE to have your crockpot at least 2/3 full, otherwise it will burn and dry out. So I tripled the recipe, and it served 6 people comfortably. People really liked this! It was REALLY creamy, and I used old-fashioned oats. Next time I'll try steel cut to add some texture. This is a great breakfast to prepare if people are getting up at all different times in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States